The Meddler

Lesly Lopez
El Sereno Community Garden
4 min readOct 30, 2019

--

“Hey! Come check this out” Grace said.

It was a video of a cat peeing on the toilet, she had found on her discovery section on Instagram. Suddenly she got a DM.

@rickyrich said “have you told your crush yet?”

“Oh, you have a crush! Who is it?” I asked

“It’s none of your business” grace responded.

@rickyrich said “just tell her”

I had her phone in my hand.

“so, you are a ….”

“no, he is just talking about my celebrity crush, Jennifer Lopez. Today's her birthday and I was going to DM her saying happy birthday” she responded.

I think she was lying but that’s none of my business I mean J-Lo was really pretty. We continued to hang out and be on your phones.

“You know I am not into girls, like I just want you to know that like I am not a you know” she said.

“Yeah whatever it doesn’t make a difference to me if you were or weren’t” I responded.

“Well I am not” she said.

I needed to turn in an assignment for school so I got up and went to her computer.

“Do you mind if I use your computer to turn in my homework?”

“yeah sure go ahead” she said.

When I opened her computer there was a lot of messages from Instagram.

@rickyrich “you have to tell her she is your best friend”

@rickyrich “it will be easier for you to move on, just tell Nancy”

@rickyrich “I will literally tell her if you don’t”

“Hey did you turn it in?” she asked.

“um… yeah it’s all done”

She walked over to me and asked if I could show her what homework and I shut out her laptop.

“I have to go home now but thanks, see you at school bye” I said.

I left the house and I went home, I wonder if it was me. I mean it had to be me. I don’t know what was more upsetting the fact that Ricky was being rude or the fact that she lied to me.

@gracieboo sent you a message

@gracieboo said “did you see the messages from my computer? If you did I am sorry. I know I lied about liking girls, I just developed feelings for you and I didn’t want it to be weird”

@gracieboo said “please text me back lets just talk”

@rickyrich made a post

I went to go check out the post, it was a picture of me and grace it said cute couple. I was so mad at this why would he post that. I never liked Ricky he was so toxic and definitely hid behind his phone screen, what a jerk.

@gracieboo said “I didn’t have anything to do with that post I am sorry, I told him to deleted”

I honestly didn’t know what to say. I didn’t want to lose my best friend though.

I sent her DM.

Grace’s phone

@nanie sent you a message

@nanie “I am sorry Ricky outed you like that”

Oh man I was shocked that Nancy wasn’t mad about me having feelings for her but grateful.

@nanie said “I know it’s probably going to be hard at school for you but I got your back what are we going do about Ricky?”

@nanie said “don’t worry about having feelings we will deal with it, I don’t want anything to change between our friendship, ill follow your lead on this. But I don’t feel the same way about you, you are like my sister and I just don’t like girls.”

Oh, thank god she isn’t mad for lying I really did have a great best friend I thought to myself, this is why I liked her to begin with she really was the greatest. I sat in my room and cried for a while because I was heartbroken and then I decided to make a post about Ricky. It was an embarrassing picture of him, #rickyisoverparty

Rick’s phone

@gracieboo tagged you in a post

This was a picture of me making out with Jason at last year’s spring fling, my life was over. Everyone began to comment #rickyisoverparty

I apologized to the girls I thought I was helping but I guess not, I told them, I was sorry for meddling in their lives, that I was really just trying to have someone else come out in my school so people could stop thinking I was gay even if I was.

my life was not the same after but I learned to get use to it #over

--

--