Photo by Yong Chuan Tan on Unsplash

The Painter

Ashley Sanchez
El Sereno Community Garden
1 min readMar 24, 2020

--

Pouring down the murky gray water down my throat to hide the ugliness in the making of something so beautiful. You painted everlasting swirls with pretty pinks and pastel purples. I still remember the feeling of your coarse fingertips tracing over my lips; longing for you to kiss them.

A whole galaxy you created.

Over time I began to overflow as the water began leaking out of every pore on my face. Ruining the masterpiece you once were so proud of. The blending of the once vibrant colors made something of a black hole. Sucking the life out of you and draining you colorless.

I pressed my bare body against yours, hoping to restore the color back to you. The flicks of gold glitter for the stars, fell into your eyes. Making those chestnut eyes twinkle for another night. The remaining pink and purple splattered onto your tight chest. Rendering me with no color.

I began to fall cold as I realized that I ultimately created a black hole in your heart. Through my actions of trying to save you, I ended up hurting you more. For in the end, I was the real black hole, causing you to vanish forever.

--

--