THE VOICEMAIL

Georgina Abuede
El Sereno Community Garden
5 min readOct 30, 2019

At Jon’s House

6464 W. Billboard Ave.

Jon sits by the window peacefully with no reflection of himself, as painters begin to repaint the living room and refurbish the furniture.

Melissa’s Voicemail- June 5th 2004

[Hey Jon, it’s me Melissa call me back, I know we didn’t end things so well last time. I just wanted to talk]

Melissa’s Voicemail-June 15th 2004

[Hey John, its Melissa again. I miss you can we please talk. Not sure if you got my phone call last week but I left a voicemail. I Love you!]

Phone Call from Mother to Melissa- June 15th 2004

[distinct chattering from Melissa’s side of the phone]

“Hey baby, how are you doing?”

“Not sure, John hasn’t been answering my phone calls.”

“Honey, maybe you should start prayer. It’s the way to relieve grief.”

“Mom! I’ve told you a million times I don’t want to go to church plus me and Jon were planning on getting married at the church nearby my house, it’s depressing as shit!

“Language Melissa.”

“Sorry, Mom, it’s just I hate this. We’ve been together for seven years and I’m scared it’s over just like that.”

[Door Slams through Mother’s side of the phone]

I know, I remember my first breakup. But don’t worry your pain is only temporary. Listen, I got to go cuz your dad just came home. Gotta make dinner, but I will keep in contact with you. Bye baby! Goodnight!

Night, Mom!

Phone call ends

At Melissa’s Apartment

7267 Tillgen Ave.

Rose’s Voicemail- July 14th 2004

[Hey Melissa, its Rose, can you answer the fuckin phone, we need to talk. I haven’t heard from you in 4 months. Where the hell are you? Me and Danny just came back from our trip from Australia, and we want to see you. Call me back when you gotta chance]

Rose’s Voicemail- July 30th 2004

[Melissa, GOD DAM IT! Answer the phone or at least the doorbell. I tried going to your apartment and I tried ringing the doorbell and no one answers. Jesus are you dead? Shit Melissa, I’ve been your friend for 8 years. If you wanna talk to me about anything you know I’m here.]

Phone call from Rose to Melissa’s Mother- August 2nd 2004

“Hi, Mrs. Baker how are you doing?”

“Hey, Rose I’m okay, how about yourself? How are you and Danny? How was the trip to Australia?”

“We’re fine. Our trip to Australia was amazing. I wish Melissa and John would’ve came with us, but I’m actually calling you because we haven’t heard anything from Melissa or Jon. We’ve tried going to both of their apartments, but no one seems to be there.”

“Listen Rose, it’s complicated. There is a lot that went on while you and Danny were gone. It’s late, but I’ll give you a call as soon as I am free.”

“Okay, thankyou Mrs. Baker, have a goodnight!”

“Bye Rose.”

Phone Call ends

At Jon’s House

6464 W. Billboard Ave.

Danny’s Voicemail-August 8th 2004

[Hey Man, I know we haven’t talked for a while, but me and Rose are going out of our minds trying to reach you guys. Where the hell are you guys? I hope you guys didn’t get secretly married and go your honeymoon without telling us cuz that is just sick John. Hahaha. Alright, all jokes aside I miss you bud we’ve been friends since we were kids, and I just wanna know if you are okay. And by the way, are you getting your house remodeled? Cuz it’s looking pretty fine. Shit finer than Rose and that bitch Mayra you’ve been holding on too. Hahaha. Well, call me when you can. Bye]

Phone call from Mother to Melissa- August 10th 2004

[Distinct chattering from Melissa’s side]

“Hey baby? How are you doing?”

“I feel like crap mom, I can’t sleep. I keep having these weird dreams that don’t make sense. I keep seeing John’s face on his bathroom mirror just laughing so evily at me with no remorse. To the point it infuriates me.”

“Don’t worry baby, you’ll get your sleep back. You know Rose and Danny came back from their trip in Australia and want to know how you and John are doing. I really just feel like telling them the truth. You know?”

“What truth?”

[Melissa’s Dad from Mother’s side of the phone: Dam it Claudette! What the hell did I tell you about keeping your trap shut! You know it’s going to send her to hell and back!]

“Mom! What truth are you and daddy talking about?” Mom?!?!?! MOOOM?!?!? MOOOOOOM?!?! MOOOOM! MOOOM!”

[crying from mother’s side of the phone]

Phone call ends

At Danny and Rose’s Apartment

2493 E. San Louis Blvd

Out of desperation, Danny and Rose revisit their landline voicemails 4 months back.

Jon’s Voicemail- January 30th 2004

[Danny {gasping for air} its John, UUUhhhh]….long silence.

Jon’s Voicemail-January 21st 2004

[ {Jon Crying} I did this Danny. I don’t think I can live with myself. Melissa hates me and she wishes me dead every day. I don’t know what the fuck is going on around here anymore. Call me back, please I beg you.]

Jon’s Voicemail- January 15th 2004

[Danny, it’s me Jon, call me back we need to talk, I thought you guys would be leaving in February. Melissa found out about the affair with Mayra.]

Phone Call from Danny and Rose to Melissa’s Mother- August 13th 2004 [present day]

“Hello?”

“Hey Mrs. Baker, It’s me Rose. I know you said you were going to reach out to me whenever you could, but me and Danny just revisited some voicemails from a while back is Melissa okay? We heard about the affair?”

“Rose {deep breath} listen to me, Melissa mutilated Jon after she found out about the affair. She went completely nuts. There was blood everywhere by the time we arrived at John’s house. She painted his face with his blood on the bathroom mirror and scattered his body parts all over the dam house. Goodness, I still can’t believe she was capable of such atrocity.”

[Danny and Rose cry over the phone]

[Danny speaks over the phone to Mrs. Baker]

“Mrs. Baker, this is my fault, I knew about the affair. I should have done something”

“NO! don’t blame yourself, this is something Melissa will have to live with.”

[Rose speaks over the phone to Mrs. Baker]

“Well where is she now?”

“She’s at a Woodward Psychiatric Hospital just a few miles downtown. She’s really sick. She hallucinates and has insomnia. The doctors believe she might be schitzophrenic.”

“OH MY GOD Mrs. Baker! I am so sorry to hear this may we visit her?”

“Of course, honey, that will do her some good. Whatever you do, DO NOT I repeat DO NOT mention anything about the incident. It was so traumatic she has tucked the reality of the situation somewhere in her little brain. If you talk to her, just pretend you don’t know anything and talk of John as if he were still alive. Only mention him if she mentions him.”

[Door Slams for Melissa’s Mother side of the phone]

“Okay, thankyou Mrs. Baker is there anything else?”

“Nope that’s all, I gotta go and make Mark dinner. Bye honey!”

“Bye!”

Phone call ends

At Danny and Rose’s Apartment

2493 E. San Louis Blvd

[Voicemail from Woodward Psychiatric Hospital]

[Hey Rose, thanks for the cake you and Danny got me, still haven’t heard from Jon. Let me know if he calls you guys. Love you!]

--

--