Photo by David Monje on Unsplash

Time to shine

Ana
El Sereno Community Garden
1 min readMay 7, 2020

--

I feel my skin, little bumps and stinging appear.

My heart beats the walls of my chest, it demands to escape.

My legs disintegrate and I am stuck.

My eyes see a blur, no edges, no shapes, no color, one image full of emptiness.

The air rushes in and out, it feels hot and unwanted.

This mask is humid, an accumulation of fear.

The feeling takes over, I want to disappear,

but I want to feel the warmth of the sun, like a blanket of comfort.

I see a ball on a chain, not tied to me but I am holding it.

I am holding it,

and the chain scratches flesh away,

and the chain drags me out of my way,

and the chain drips with warm honey-like bromine.

A wave of clarity cleanses the surface of my eyes.

A drop falls and it stings the wound.

My hands become slippery as can be and I set it free, its no longer part of me.

I begin to float, I cross the atmosphere and become a fire.

I am the light, I start to shine bright, I will no longer put up a fight.

--

--