Lessons of a Resident Teacher

Christine S., MPP
ELA Tutor
Published in
3 min readAug 14, 2018

For a moment, I forgot that tearjerkers were crafted, budgeted, and targeted to compel viewers to reach an emotional place. I was in my senior year of college, and since I completed my credits for graduation faster than usual I had A LOT of time to binge-watch tv shows and movies. I also had a lot of free time to consider my future and potential careers. At this point in my life, I wanted to be forward-thinking and prepared, but flexible. I decided to apply to be a teacher despite never having the burning desire to teach. The application process quickly became a challenge and one that I was determined to overcome. I dedicated myself to crafting the perfect resume and cover letter to get accepted into a teaching program. This was my way to start securing my future, and also my way of paying it forward.

When I accepted the job offer to teach in Baltimore City, I envisioned the ending scenes from “Freedom Writers”, and thought I’d be that teacher. The one who changed the life of every student because they were there, they cared, and they listened. It was an idea that I had adopted from seeing a touching movie. It resonated with my desire to be a light in the darkness. I decided to give it a try.

I stayed in the classroom for a few years out of feeling obligated to see a group of students through middle school. They overcame the many obstacles they encountered on their journeys…to high school. Many of my students were experiencing a life I was fortunate enough to never even imagine by the time we met. Making it to high school was an accomplishment and one that I cheered and praised them for. This was one step closer to that big dream they had.

Graduation.

And then what?

I knew that their journeys would be unique and difficult. I knew some of them might decide it was too much work, and they would settle for “almost graduating”. For some, maybe their families would move, and they would have to start all over again. Or, they would fall down like toy soldiers, and any chance they had would disappear with their last breath. I prepared them anyway.

I taught them to scan a text for information. I taught them to write about their daily lives in free verse. I taught them to think about what content they fed their spirit. I taught them to read and understand Bob Marley’s “Redemption Song”. I taught them to do their best because it was “just a test”. And I taught them that now is just now, and we can be a better version of ourselves as soon as we want to be. And that could be as early as the next moment.

They taught me.

We graduated. Some decided not to. Some moved away but kept working towards their dream. Some did fall. We all left the classroom.

Photo by Daniil Kuželev on Unsplash

Our new worlds welcomed us with new obstacles to overcome. But I remember the lesson they taught me: Every new day is a chance for us to chart our path to freedom.

--

--

Christine S., MPP
ELA Tutor

Passionate about Humanity, Music, Business, Policy & Technology.