What to expect from 2nd generation of 12-inch MacBook

Eldar Gezalov
Eldartech
Published in
2 min readMar 30, 2016

It is not a secret, that I love the design and portability of the 12-inch MacBook with Retina Display. When Apple released it last year, I was one of the first people to buy one and use it as my main computer. Later on, I switched back to my 15-inch MacBook Pro, because I couldn’t take the sluggish performance of 12-inch MacBook anymore.

Today, 6 months since the day I switched back to MacBook Pro, I cannot wait for Apple to release the second generation of 12-inch MacBook. If Apple is to introduce the following much-needed improvements, the second generation MacBook will definitely become one of my all-time favorite computers.

Better performance

Slugging performance was the main reason I switched to 15-inch MacBook Pro. It is still unclear whatever the next MacBook will have the Skylake or next generation of the Core M chips, but it is clear that it will receive the more powerful and more energy-efficient processor.

True all-day battery life

Apple promises 9 hours of battery life for the current generation of 12-inch MacBook, I was able to get about 8. It is not a bad number for such a thin and light laptop, but I am sure that with the introduction of the more efficient processor, the next generation of 12-inch MacBook will have at least 10 hours of battery life.

Second USB-C port

Adding more ports is probably the most popular wish for the second generation of MacBook. I would love to have another USB-C port on the opposite site of the MacBook, but realistically, I do not expect Apple to add any ports at all.

Even if Apple decides to add another port, it surely won’t be the regular size USB, HDMI or Thunderbolt port, because there is just not enough space to put it into a slim body of this MacBook.

FaceTime HD

The 480p FaceTime camera on the current generation of 12-inch MacBook has become the laughing stock of almost every single review on the internet. It is highly unlikely that Apple decides not to update the camera to at least 720p.

That’s all I am asking for. Not much, right?

Finally, I also believe that it would be a great move by Apple to drop the starting price to $1,199. Maybe it is just wishful thinking, but who knows.

--

--

Eldar Gezalov
Eldartech

Authorized Trainer for Blocs & Squarespace. I help people make beautiful websites, create and sell online courses, and run online businesses. EldarGezalov.com