Howl

A Lovecraftian tale of amusing geometrical constructions and their chilling eldritch consequences

Dr Stuart Woolley
EldritchScriptorium
10 min readOct 1, 2022

--

Image generated by the author using Stable Diffusion

I

Geometry was one of my very favourite subjects at school and it really did show. While the other kids were kicking around a half-inflated ball, knocking on doors and running away, or simply hanging around after dark and eating chips on street corners I was passing my time constructing endless curious geometric shapes with just a compass and straight edge.

Of course I was singled out for the usual attention, but that soon stopped when the other kids realised that I could breeze through their maths homework as well as mine in just a few short minutes.

But, it was geometry that held my greatest attention but it was when we moved onto trigonometry that my niche skills began to come to the attention of the teaching staff.

Turns out I’d accidentally copied down some homework incorrectly and inadvertently solved some conjecture than had stood for about two hundred years!

Well, what could I say? After it was ruled out that I hadn’t discovered something by complete accident (by correcting the recent papers of several leading academics from the local university) it was generally understood that I was some kind of mathematical prodigy.

--

--

Dr Stuart Woolley
EldritchScriptorium

Worries about the future. Way too involved with software. Likes coffee, maths, and . Would prefer to be in academia. SpaceX, X, and Overwatch fan.