Food for Life

Lily Hsieh
Voila! Photo Stories
4 min readSep 17, 2018
MEOWVELOUS INC.

People can’t live without sun, air and water.

I can’t live without eating, traveling and cooking.

I met MEOWVELOUS INC. three years ago, since then it has become one of my favorite bistros. My friend recommended this bistro to me. However, before I went there I didn’t think I would be amazed by this bistro. The bistro has a lot of rules, such as time limits, or if you make a reservation of 6, you can get into the restaurant only when all 6 arrive on time otherwise the reservation will be canceled, etc.

After I visited this bistro I realized why so strict the rules were set, and I couldn’t agree with them more. Their customer service was much different from any other Taiwan’s restaurants. While other restaurants are focusing on customer oriented approach, I would say this bistro works on a mutual respect approach. The owner of this bistro thinks that on the basis of mutual equality, restaurant’s members and customers should respect and fully display their respective demands. In this customer oriented approach era, it really needs to get up the courage to implement this belief. Due to the fact that it has a higher possibility to lose customers, I am truly amazed by this bistro.

*Left : Sauté Pork with Roasted Vegetables *Right : Fig and Salty Pork Salad
*Left : Seafood Risotto with Fry Mushroom *Middle : Guava with Grill Cuttlefish Salad *Right : Pumpkin and Shrimp Salted Egg Salad

However, instead of losing customers, they attract huge crowds not only through their belief, but also by the enticing food they serve. They provide creative cuisines, using seasonal fruits and vegetables, local ingredients, and simply cooking methods to preserve the original flavor of the ingredients. Their menu will be changed at regular intervals; moreover, they will prepare some daily specials for your preference. I am impressed by the meals they provide every time I went there.

“A meal without alcohol is just like a day without sunshine.”

In addition, I know for some people they can’t live without alcohol, don’t worry the cocktails they serve are also attractive. The bartenders of this restaurant will use seasonal fruits to create special cocktails each season and name them in an unusual way. The names they name for each cocktail would usually make me laugh or feel more interested in it. Even though I am not a big fan of alcohol, every time I go there I would like to give them a try.

Recently, they just changed their menu. Different from previous one, having more exotic cuisines, this time they provide local cuisines. The owner of this restaurant want to get back to basic this time, with more local ingredients being used to create Taiwan’s traditional food in different ways. For example, they provide one dish called “Taipei Style Cold Veg Mix & Salted Chicken Salad”, another called “Hot Pot Rice with Taiwan Pickles and Fried Pork Chop (Adapted from “Pork Chop Bento”), etc.

Cold Beef Plate with Taiwan Hot Sauce(Taiwanese Beef Tartare)
Melted Cheese & Bread
My favorite : Meowvelous Fries.

Getting back to original, it gives you a different adventure of traditional food. After I visited there recently, I strongly recommend you to give it a try.

“So, what are you waiting for?”

Daily special : Thai Stir-Fried Minced Pork Sandwich

--

--