First Blog Post

My name is Jessica Jones and I am a senior at The University at Buffalo, located in Buffalo, NY. I created this blog to share my research on how electric cars will effect our society in the future. This topic caught my attention because the electric vehicle market is still so relatively new but I believe it is going to make a great impact on our world. Our world is greatly feeling the effects of climate change and it is important that we find ways to combat that. Electric vehicles have the potential to be a vessel to make a difference. This is related to my career interest in marketing because I want to make sure that in my career, I take steps to live a sustainable life. This includes the mode of transportation I use to get to work every day. Switching from a fuel burning car to an electric vehicle would reduce my carbon footprint and it would be more sustainable. I believe everyone could find something interesting from my findings. It takes one person to ignite a change but it takes the masses to make that change. What I know so far is that Tesla is the leading company of electric vehicles and they have been an industry leader. They are an extremely innovative company that was founded by Elon Musk and headquartered in Palo Alto, California. Throughout this research process, I want to find the answer to the following questions: How much does switching from a traditional vehicle to an electric vehicle affect pollution levels?; How long would it take after a major switch to electric vehicles, for the air to become more purified?; How many electric cars could we currently sustain with limited charging stations? These questions interest me because I think they are important things to know when trying to push the electric vehicle initiative. It would also be great to have a better understanding for my own knowledge. An area of knowledge that would help someone prepare for the switch to electric vehicles is sustainability. Those would know a lot about the topic of sustainability will better realize the reason this issue is so pressing and it would be a very positive change for our future to contain a planet with mostly electric cars on our streets. I hope to learn, inform, and grow through this research process and I’m very excited to be sharing this information on this blog.

--

--