My Political Journey

Liberal, to Communist, to Authoritarian, to Conservative.

Tyler Piteo-Tarpy
Electric Thoughts

--

The purpose of this essay is to explain my journey through political ideologies so that hopefully those who read my other works will have a better understanding of why I think the way I do.

Past:

Although I’m an American from birth, I was born in China and grew up in Taiwan. My family moved to the US when I was fourteen.

It’s such a different culture over there and I will have to do a whole essay on everything I learned comparing Taiwan and America. But I can say here that being fully immersed in two distinct and unique countries taught me the importance of thinking globally. Also, Taiwan is independent. Just saying.

I only started thinking about politics after moving to the US, and mostly as a result of the 2016 election. But I had been into philosophy for a while before which is probably the main reason I first supported Bernie Sanders; he represented a lot of the ideals I had concluded from thinking philosophically: equality, unity, honesty, etc.

I liked it when he spoke about a world without poverty, where everything was shared, and people lived in harmony despite their differences. And I liked that he didn’t change his beliefs to become more popular; he was consistent. In my mind…

--

--

Tyler Piteo-Tarpy
Electric Thoughts

Essayist, poet, screenwriter, and comer upper of weird ideas. My main focus will be on politics and philosophy but when I get bored, I’ll write something else.