It’s always day 1

Alex Rodriguez
Electrician Path
Published in
2 min readFeb 18, 2020

In the summer of 2016 my co-founder, Joel and I started working on a startup. Which ended up being, WorkMand. Back then it was the B2B Thumbtack. We’d connect local businesses with contractors for their repairs and remodeling.

Like many startups that are trying to figure things out, we went through multiple iterations and customer focuses (project management, marketplace for real estate rehabs). In the end, we had a chance but time had run out.

After considering our options we decided it was best to part ways and close shop. We had a good run. I wish things would have ended differently. Closing your startup is hard. But we think it’s best to close shop and move on. A lot of times people will keep theirs active in the shadows in the hopes that it’ll catch life somehow. I have yet to see this happen.

Maybe one day I’ll write a more in-depth post about what went wrong, what we did right and how we might have been able to make it. I still believe there’s a big opportunity here.

In the end, I’m glad I took the leap and went forward. I’m doing what I always wanted to do and have been given opportunities I didn’t think would happen this early in my career. It’s a blessing and I still have so much ahead of me. I’ve learned a ton and will always be grateful to everyone involved.

So what’s next? I’ll be sharing more about that in the coming weeks/months. If you’re interested you can subscribe below to stay up to date on what I’ll be doing (you thought I wouldn’t be back at it? Ha!).

If you scared to take a chance, how the f*** we gon’ get rich?

I love startups. I wouldn’t want to do anything besides building.

“It’s Not Whether You Get Knocked Down, It’s Whether You Get Up.”

I’m just getting started.

Salud,

— A-Rod

PS: There are so many people to be thankful for. I will have to write a post for them one day but they know who they are. Thank you for always having my back

PPS: If you read this far. I invite you to refer your electrician friends to Electrician Path ;)

--

--

Alex Rodriguez
Electrician Path

Founder, Electrician Path. Hiring Marketplace for Millennial and Generation-Z Electrician Talent | Founder, Graveti | EIR @ Code2040 + Google (2017)