Photo Credit: Sara Kauten on Unsplash

Freelancing Has Come A Long Way

Veronica Domeier
Elements of Freelancing
2 min readOct 22, 2016

--

A Letter To My Elements of Freelancing Readers

Dear Readers,

I started out making my living as a freelance designer over a decade ago, and my has it changed a lot. Thanks in large part to Apple, design has become more appreciated for what it truly is, making things more functional, easier to understand and navigate. Design is no longer seen as just a hobby or a stepping stone to that “real” job you’ll eventually land on, and it is thankful no longer seen with the singular function of making things look pretty.

Freelancing is in fact, the hardest job you will ever have. You are running a business and you are doing it alone. You are no longer just a designer. Your are an Account Exec., Office Manager, Bookkeeper, Payroll, Billing, Creative Director, Researcher, Printing expert, Paper rep, IT and so much more.

Starting out is hard. You will make a lot of mistakes along the way and thats good. Learn from them and keep moving forward. Freelancers weren’t so eager to share their process, their mistakes or their behind the scenes wins when I was getting started. I didn’t have a written reference to help me avoid some mistakes, or even just to let me know I wasn’t the only one making them. I want to help change that. I want to give back a little something to the freelancers who are just starting out, just finding their way and feeling completely lost in the process. You are not alone. You are not the only one to make the big, costly mistakes, and you will survive them. While more and more designers are sharing their tips and tricks; I want to share with you my mistakes, what I’ve learned from them and if I was able to turn it around.

Yes, tips and tricks are always helpful but you can find those every on the web. I’m aiming for something a little different, full transcparacy. I want you to learn from my mistakes, all the silly little things I did or didn’t do simply because no one warned me. The mistakes that I couldn’t see while I was in it, but felt really, really dumb looking back. If there is anything you want to know, how to deal with clients or vendors, how to ask important questions, or how to get work done with a toddler running around your legs — just ask. I would love to help if I can. Thanks for reading.

Your freelance friend,

Veronica

--

--

Veronica Domeier
Elements of Freelancing

Freelance designer for over a decade. Co-creator of two tiny humans. Born and raised Texan currently living in Japan. My current baby: www.freelance-her.com