her

james horton
1 min readJun 6, 2016

--

That walk jagged the corner of my eye from across the crowded market square

Something unexpected reached out from past and snatched at my heart

I stopped and watched as she moved in and out of the crowd

Her hair was much wilder and worldly now

Her face glowed with a weary serenity of a journey I could never know

I backtracked so that for a moment I could savour sweet memories

And then a priceless moment of recognition…

Her eyes sparkled still with a look that crossed time with a blink

Her smile quirky and enduring stirred dusty and youthful emotions

And with an awkward exchange of words she was gone…

I went back to the market square

Though crowded it seemed strangely empty now

All my imaginings were futile

The bitter-sweet taste of a week ago had gone, leaving a scent of hollow longing

A hint of a memory lingers in the market, dancing with sounds of people going about their business. Pigeons squabble to the rustling of feet, trolleys and bags, accompanied by a lone musician playing Hawaiian love songs. I drink my coffee and am gone.

--

--