The Dalai Lama’s Favorite Prayer that Gives me Goosebumps.

THIERRY EHRMANN/FLICKR

“Let me not pray to be sheltered from dangers,
but to be fearless in facing them.
Let me not beg for the stilling of my pain,
but for the heart to conquer it.
Let me not crave in anxious fear to be saved,
but for the patience to win my freedom.” ~ Rabindranath Tagore

Most of us were raised to believe that prayer is a religious duty.

Out of habit, we’ve associated prayer intimately with religion. We’ve assumed that every religion addresses its prayers to its own deities.

My personal history with prayer goes back to when I was a little kid. I prayed because I was afraid of an Almighty God, because I had a long list of desires and because I was told I should pray.

But as I grew older, I started to recognize that prayer was based on misconceptions and a false sense of obligation. Since then, I’ve shifted my perspective and the way I’ve prayed.

Praying goes deeper than reciting religious texts. It is personal and spiritual — not secular. The sincerest form of prayer not only involves us, but it also involves others. It expresses gratitude and thankfulness and isn’t build on expectations. While we can still express our desires, we neither get attached to the results nor do we blame whoever we pray to if…

--

--

Elephant Journal
I’m not “Spiritual.” I just practice being a Good Person.

Elephant is an independent, mindful media dedicated to sharing the good life beyond the choir, and to all those who didn’t yet know they give a care.