You CAN Do It

Steven Furtick
Elevation Church
Published in
1 min readJan 24, 2018

“But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.” (James 1:22)

When I first started working out, I told my friend Buck I couldn’t do a chin-up. While Buck was helping me train, he would have to hold my legs so I could practice my chin-ups. Yeah, not my proudest moment.

But after a few years of practice, I can now do 22 chin-ups. Not bragging, just saying. My body always had the capacity for 22 chin-ups, but my conditioning was keeping me from it. The same is true in our spiritual lives.

Sometimes, your limitation isn’t a result of your capacity, but your conditioning.

God knows what you’re capable of, and when He calls you to do something, He won’t take “I can’t” as an answer. He knows you can — you just have to start. It can be scary to start something new, to step out in faith.

But God can’t bless steps you don’t take. And as long as your answer is “I can’t,” then you’ll never see what God could do in your life.

You only get stronger spiritually when you start telling God you can, and with Your help, I will.

--

--

Steven Furtick
Elevation Church

Lead pastor and founder of Elevation Church based in Charlotte, NC.