A sneak peek into the future of online shopping with Eligma

Žiga Toni
GoCrypto Blog
Published in
4 min readApr 6, 2018

A few weeks ago, I was enjoying some father-son time, watching a soccer match. My son loves soccer, which is why his sadness when the TV broke was that much worse. I took my phone and started looking for a new TV, not knowing it would be a total hassle. I searched several online stores for a TV I liked. When I found it, I wanted to read some reviews to see if the store’s description of it was true. After that, I went searching for a better price. In the end, I bought it but kept thinking that I could have got better deal or a better product somewhere else.

My new remote control came with a “Forward 2 years” function. I was curious, so I tried it and — BAM — got moved 2 years into the future.

Buying the right product with artificial intelligence

I am just about to start the washing machine to wash my son’s soccer practice dirty clothes. When I press start, nothing happens. The machine died on me. This time I am calm as I know exactly what to do. No need for browsing through a bunch of online stores, comparing products, reading reviews and searching for better deals.

I pick up my phone, visit Eligma’s website and log into my account. I enter “washing machine” in the search field and press the “Discover” button. Eligma’s AI starts browsing through its huge database of products and online stores and displays the most suitable offers. A carefully designed chatbot helps me narrow down the search results and only shows offers that can be delivered to my home. I complete my order without being redirected to any other online store. I can also pay with cryptocurrencies even if the store where I bought the product doesn’t accept them yet.

If I want to save some more money and can put up with dirty soccer clothes for a little bit longer, I can also select the product hunt option. With it, Eligma tracks prices for the selected time period and tells me when the price of the washing machine drops to an amount I am willing to pay.

Selling and buying used items

Immediately after I make a purchase on Eligma, the product data and purchase information are safely stored in my private inventory. Eligma’s price predictor tells me how much the product is worth and how that value will change in the future, so I know exactly when to sell it if I want.

Remember the TV I bought 2 years ago? Eligma suggests that I should sell it now. I choose the “Sell” option in the inventory, select desired second-hand stores from the list and hit the “Confirm” button.

Soon, a potential customer finds my TV and wants to purchase it, but he has bad experience with second-hand purchases. He wants to make sure that I am going to send the item and that it is in the condition stated. For this reason, Eligma provides secure and unchangeable product data in the inventory by using blockchain and smart contracts. We agree to use Eligma as an intermediary that holds the buyer’s money until he receives the product and confirms everything is OK. Only then will I receive his payment!

No more coupons

There is something else I won’t be needing in 2 years’ time: all those loyalty cards and points I cannot keep track of and can only be used at the store where I received them.

Meet the ELI token, a universal loyalty token. It is a crypto token that Eligma will use for its unified loyalty program. When I purchased my washing machine for 800$, the seller gave me a 50$ worth of ELI tokens as a cashback. They were automatically sent to my wallet in my Eligma account without me having to claim them in any way.

Tomorrow, I am going fishing and I need a new rod and spinning reel set. I found the perfect one on Eligma and it costs 140$. When paying, I select to redeem the ELI tokens from my wallet and save 50$ on my purchase even though I have not visited that fishing store before.

Yes, it’s that simple. All I can hope for now is some nice weather and that the fish will bite!

If you want to see the future of commerce for yourself, join our public presale that is only open until April 10th 11:00 UTC!

Join our community:

Web page|Facebook|Telegram|LinkedIn|Twitter|GitHub

--

--

Žiga Toni
GoCrypto Blog

COO at Eligma Ltd. Serial marketing and technology entrepreneur with deep interest in the blockchain technology.