#Elite Creatives: Zae Ahead (Pray4Me)

Mez
Elite Media Group
Published in
4 min readFeb 12, 2021

By Tamez Amerson (@ogmez)

Quiet as kept, the creative scene in St. Louis is on the rise. Especially when it comes to streetwear and apparel. In the forefront of it all lies Zae Ahead. The Creative Director/Designer for the brand Pray4Me.

When I was brainstorming ideas for this series, I knew I wanted to have someone I’ve seen “get it out the mud” first. I’ve had the luxury to see Zae design clothes before Pray4Me was even official. Now, with a few collections under his belt, and support from the likes of those such as NBA veteran Iman Shumpert and STL native rapper, Smino. Pray4Me & Zae has began to take the streetwear world by storm.

Mez: When did you start designing and what was the reason behind it?

Zae: ‘’I’ve been designing for about 4–5 years now. I originally started off doing different creative work in high school, mainly painting and styling. Then, I pivoted into creative directing and developed Pray4Me in college at Mizzou.”

“I started designing and painting, mainly to express myself. As young black men, outside of sports we aren’t given many avenues to express our emotions, thoughts, and feelings. I was never a verbal or outspoken person so speaking through art and clothes always was the immediate answer for me. It just made the most sense and was convenient.”

Mez: Who are your biggest inspirations when it comes to fashion?

Zae: “My biggest inspirations when it comes to fashion are Pharrell, Nigo, and the nostalgia of black culture in general.”

“I view them as the founding fathers of streetwear. They built the blueprint and framework of this in the past developing some of my favorite brands like BBC, Ice Cream, and Bape.”

Mez: What are your favorite pieces from collections that you’ve dropped?

Zae: “My favorite pieces that I’ve dropped to date are probably the P4M Varsity Jacket, Gloryboy Airbrush hoodie, and the Stand 4 Something tee. The 2000’s truckers and the AF1 customs really helped me gain buzz though.”

Mez: What are your favorite brands besides Pray4Me?

Zae: “I like a lot of upcoming designers whether they’re black, local, etc. Some of my favorite brands are Human Made, Barriers, Brick Owens, Murder Bravado, BSR, BBC, and Ksubi.”

“I really be inspired by everything.”

Mez: What are your goals for Pray4Me?

“My goals when it comes to Pray4Me are to ultimately change how Midwest creatives and streetwear is viewed.”

“I want to give voice to young black creatives like me to accomplish their goals, regardless if they don’t come from environments pouring resources on them. Overall, I just want to make a direct impact to my community through streetwear and art.”

Mez: Walk me through your thinking process when it comes to creating.

Zae: “When it comes to creating, my thought process is everywhere.”

“I receive inspiration from past experiences, daily interactions, music I’m listening to and really just a variety of different influences.”

P4M is based on the idea of a black life being prayed for or preyed on by the world. We’re all products of our environment. I develop vivid designs and ideas based off true underlying messages through black culture, streetwear, and art.”

Mez: What can we expect from you in 2021?

Zae: “In 2021, you can expect more collabs from other designers/artists and me. More collections and projects, hopefully some pop-up shops in some different cities, considering COVID.”

“Up to this point, I’ve really just been building my platform.”

“In 2021, I’m really expanding and taking Pray4Me to the next level.”

Mez: Zae, appreciate you choppin’ it up with me for this interview, man. Is there anything else you would like to say to those reading this?

Zae: “Appreciate you having me for the interview, bro. I really just want to say any creative or anybody reading this, it’s really easy to get discouraged. Stay motivated, find and create your lane, and focus on your work ethic. Everything else will work itself out.”

“I’m excited to show the world everything I’ve been working on and my perspective.”

Follow Zae and Pray4ME:

Twitter: @zaeglory @whyprayforme

Instagram @zaeahead @whyprayforme

— and explore his site ZaeAhead.com.

--

--