Elixir Radar has a new home

Hugo Baraúna
Elixir Radar
Published in
2 min readMay 13, 2020

Hi, my name is Hugo, nice to meet you! :) I’m one of the co-founders of Plataformatec, the company that started Elixir Radar (and the Elixir language).

We have some news for you. Elixir Radar has a new home!

As you may know, Plataformatec was acqui-hired and is no longer in operation. During its 11 years, Plataformatec made a lot of contributions to the software communities we belonged through our open source projects, our professional services, and our content.

Our open source projects will continue and already have a new home.

As for our professional services, they’re not available anymore. But, José Valim founded Dashbit, which is offering commercial Elixir support and consulting. When it comes to Elixir development services, these are some of the companies that we trust: Erlang Solutions, DockYard, WyeWorks, and Brainn.

The main media we used to publish our content was our blog. It’s still live, but no longer being updated

Now it’s the time for the future of Elixir Radar.

The news is that this newsletter was transferred from Plataformatec (the company) to me (the individual). From now on, I’m the person responsible for Elixir Radar.

That said, there are no big changes for Elixir Radar subscribers. I’ll keep publishing Elixir Radar every week. They can continue to receive it, as always.

I decided to continue maintaining Elixir Radar by myself for a few reasons.

First, I was the one behind this initiative back in 2015. After all those years taking care of Elixir Radar, I’m attached to it on a personal level. I’m proud of the work we’ve been doing here.

Second, Elixir Radar is running for a long time, so I think it turned into a trusted source for the community. So, I believe it must go on.

Third, after Plataformatec was acqui-hired, I decided to take a sabbatical period. Since I have time to maintain it (and even evolve it!), why not? :)

If you’re already a subscriber, I hope you continue with us.

If not, you can subscribe to the newsletter here.

See you in the next issues!

--

--

Hugo Baraúna
Elixir Radar

Entrepreneur in a sabbatical. Previously, co-founder at @plataformatec (acqui-hired by @nubank ). A builder, seller and writer. Likes the concept of a polymath.