Infographic: Getting to Know the World.

Liz Mr
lizmr0
Published in
2 min readApr 17, 2018

Layout Design

What is the project about?

I was trying to achieve a layout with an infographic vibe that would show interesting facts about some countries around the world. I wanted to persuade people into visiting those places in a relaxed and fun way. I found that making an infographic is an excellent way to represent the culture of a country (even if it is a small part). I wanted to make this layout eye-catching and compelling.

Challenges

One of the challenges that I faced while designing the content of this layout was the theme. It was really tricky for me to find a colour that is related to travelling without choosing a beach-like colour palette since some of the countries selected are not known as beach destinations. Another challenge was to represent those countries as accurately as I could. Also, it was really tricky to achieve aesthetically pleasing vector images since drawing them with the “Pen Tool” and the “Paintbrush Tool” can be tricky.

Solutions

First of all, I started by doing some research; I wanted to make things that actually represented all the countries chosen. I talked to friends and asked for their opinions on the images. This was really enriching and fun to do. Also, doing some research online to look for inspiration was really useful to improve the overall design. This process had a lot of trial and errors attempts. I had to make many changes to make the layout look appealing. I experimented a lot with different fonts, layout distributions, colours and designs.

What can I change?

In the future, I hope to improve my understanding and interpretation of a theme so I can make better decisions on the colour scheme and typography to make them more representative of the chosen topic. I would also leave more blank space between each country, so that it looks more harmonized and more balanced.

--

--