ELIZABETH WARREN’S PURPLE PATAGONIA JACKET FIELDS QUESTIONS FROM THE PRESS ABOUT HER CAMPAIGN SUSPENSION

Senator, why do you think you weren’t able to resonate more with voters and win any states?

I was told at the beginning of this race that there were two lanes: an iconic stained t-shirt with holes in the underarms lane and a navy blue Brooks Brothers blazer lane. I thought surely there was room for a sustainable piece of apparel that looks good but also keeps you warm. I was wrong.

Senator, was it especially painful to lose your home state, Massachusetts?

This is the hard road a puff has always had to endure. We’re there for you during hikes. For a brisk fall evening in the soccer stands. For binge watching “This Is Us” when it’s a bit drafty. And then when date night rolls around, you decide to wear no coat at all and risk getting a cold, or worse, COVID-19 (which by the way the I had a plan for) because puffs “aren’t sexy.” Nonetheless, I’ll be there for you while you curl up in bed with your MacBook next week.

I know that your campaign manager Roger Lau said on the staff call today that he had no regrets. Do you feel the same way?

Oh, I do. I have no regrets at all. This has been the honor of a lifetime. Ten years ago, I was just a piece of plastic in the ocean talking about how f*cked we are if we do not start planning for the future. I layed out clear ideas on how to fix everything — from climate change to universal childcare to ensuring everyone had access to lightweight, technical wear that looks good on every race, gender, class and sexuality. And, pretty much, nobody wanted to hear it.

Then I had a chance to get out there. I showed up at school drop off, outdoor musical festivals, business meetings, all the National Parks, public transportation, pop-up art openings, you name it.

Those are life-changing events for people. So, I’m delighted to have been here and honored to have had this chance.

Senator, [do you have] advice [for] your supporters right now looking for a campaign? What is your advice to them? Obviously, I know you’re not endorsing anybody, but what is your advice to them.

Right now America is looking into a coat closet with only two choices to wear in a storm — a t-shirt or a blazer. I would wait and see what the base layers are going to be. If the t-shirt can find a wool base layer to help it be functional maybe you can survive. If the jacket spices things up with a pink Burberry scarf and colorful fleece gloves then there is your answer. For now, keep staring into the closet and let yourself cry.

Senator Warren, Could you talk a little bit about the role that you think that gender played in this campaign?

Fuck off.

--

--