Ways to Deal with Stress in College

Elizabeth Thomas
Elizabeth’s Writing
3 min readFeb 12, 2024

Oftentimes college can be very stressful but you have to remind yourself to just breathe. Stress can happen because of so many different things in college. For example: tons of homework, upcoming tests and quizzes, or from not getting enough rest. There are 3 major ways that I prefer to deal with stress in college.

The first way that I like to deal with stress is by coloring. The reason I like to color to relieve stress is because it gives me time to just relax, think and be to myself in a quiet environment. I especially enjoy coloring in my adult coloring book and using my favorite type of pens which is the papermate pens. It is very calming and relaxing especially when I put on instrumental music.

The second way that I relieve my stress is by journaling. The reason that I like to journal is because it helps me to gather my thoughts together and have them in one place. In my opinion I can only have so many thoughts running in my brain and I prefer not to have negative thoughts. I also feel that it gives me a place to write down my feelings and emotions without having to share them outloud with anyone. My journal is something that is personal to me and for my eyes only. Plus at the end of the day if I don’t want to remember those feelings. I have the privilege of taking that page out of my journal and ripping it up or putting it through a paper shredder.

Lastly, I like to relieve stress by meditating. This is by far my favorite way to relieve stress and the one I lean towards doing the most. Stressed out or not, I love to meditate. It’s a time to myself where I can close my eyes and just relax. Meditating allows me to forget everything that is happening in my life and just be at peace. I enjoy listening to guided meditations on my phone because I tend to really listen and just breathe. One of my favorite types of meditations to listen to are ones that help guide you to sleep. The reason I enjoy these is because most of the time the reason for me being stressed is that I didn’t sleep well. I always make sure though if I do a sleep meditation that I set my alarm just in case I actually fall asleep.

Overall these are the 3 main ways that I like to deal with stress. There are however other ways that I deal with stress but these are my top 3. Other ways that I deal with stress besides those are hanging out with my friends, watching tv, and occasionally reading a book. Most of the time though I just stick with coloring, journaling, and meditating. You should always try to find ways that you can relieve your stress because you will feel much better at the end of the day.

--

--