Music

70s Soft Rock Was the Bomb!

A look back at some of the greatest soft rock from the 1970s

Scott Trotter
Ellemeno
Published in
11 min readMay 16, 2023

--

Photo from PxHere, Creative Commons license, modified by Author

I think most people, when they get nostalgic for the music of their youth tend to fall back on the music they were listening to as a teenager. That just makes sense, that’s the age you’re discovering who you are, what makes you different from everyone else. A big part of that is the music you choose to listen to. When I was a teen in the 1980s, I was into the 60s psychedelic rock and heavy metal, think Jimi Hendrix and Metallica. I still love that music, but when I’m feeling nostalgic, I fall back to a very different type of music, my first musical love was seventies soft rock.

Part of the reason I don’t get overly sentimental about music from my teen years is, let’s face it, the 1980s was a weak decade for music. I mean there was a reason I was listening to 60s rock rather than the contemporary music. There are exceptions, who doesn’t want to rock out to Walk Like an Egyptian? But on the whole, eighties music was pretty boring. The 1970s on the other hand was such an exciting decade for music.

The seventies had classic soul music from the likes of Al Green, Aretha Franklin playing side by side with Parliament-Funkadelic. There were bands like Led Zeppelin that were continuing the sixties psychedelic rock while…

--

--

Scott Trotter
Ellemeno

Retired Air Force, former history teacher, and occasional political activist.