CULTURE

Am I the Only One Making Low-Key Plans for Surviving World War III and the Apocalypse?

Real prepping is not what you think it is

Michelle Teheux
Ellemeno
Published in
7 min readJan 12, 2024

--

An older neighbor of mine loves yard work and is almost always outside when I walk by with my dogs, so we often end up chatting for a few minutes.

She just asked me if I understood that I’m going to have to start canning my own food soon. And it made me wonder if we aren’t all thinking things like this now.

Living through a pandemic, watching wars break out in Europe and the Middle East and realizing that a third of Americans support a man willing to overthrow our democracy will do that to you.

If you’re not concerned, you should be

I don’t mean that we need to hoard a year’s worth of beans or dig a bunker. I’m talking about something else.

You cannot possibly save enough food to last forever. Yes, have a reasonable stock of supplies and know how to take care of yourself.

I like knowing I can identify some edible wild plants, have decent gardening skills and don’t live far from the Illinois River. I know how to make bread, cheese, yogurt and so forth. These are all good things.

--

--

Michelle Teheux
Ellemeno

Lover of literature. Former newspaper editor. Fascinated by everything. Contact: michelleteheux@gmail.com. To buy me a coffee: https://ko-fi.com/michelleteheux