LIFE

Embracing Failure and A Beginner’s Mind

Would you let failures make or break you?

Natasha MH
Ellemeno
Published in
11 min readJun 6, 2023

--

Be ambitiously different. Photo by Paolo Bendandi on Unsplash

“The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out. The brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. Because the brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. They’re there to stop the other people.”
— Randy Pausch, ‘The Last Lecture’

I took several days off Medium to be quiet but my mind has been anything but.

The past week I was engaged in several meaningful conversations I’ve not had in a long time. Conversations that occurred on the phone, via video calls, face-to-face, and in my own head.

Conversations with people across cultures and continents; old and young; family and friends; men and women. They’re the conversations you actively listen to more than you speak, you take a step back to ruminate and marinate the content, you spiritually and emotionally rise above to have a bird’s eye view of your entire life. For me that would be forty-seven years worth.

I’m at an existential intersection in my life where I’m planning my next decade. In three years time I will be entering my third act. Among friends, we affectionately call it The Five Series. It’s a…

--

--