MEMOIR

Escaping The Grasp Of My Bully Husband

Finding the courage to say goodbye forever

Glenna Gill
Ellemeno
Published in
8 min readJan 23, 2024

--

“You don’t love me.”

My ex-husband, Micah, accused me of this quite often, especially when I would threaten to leave him. He knew it was one of my weaknesses. I never wanted to be unkind, and he used that to his advantage time and time again. He knew I couldn’t say the words that would cause him pain.

The truth was that I didn’t like Micah anymore, much less love him. Being exposed to his cruel and abusive behavior killed any positive feelings I had about him. I no longer wanted to be married to him or even to know him anymore.

You don’t love me.”

It wasn’t just me. Nobody loved Micah. My friends thought he was a loser. His parents had a restraining order against him. Even my mom hated him, and she liked everybody. His inappropriate behavior and constant drinking turned people off. Everyone in our lives told me to get away from him.

I couldn’t do it for years because I felt guilty and didn’t want to make him feel bad. Being too kind hearted had become a flaw.

When we first met, Micah was living in a trailer with an eviction sign in the window. He had rigged up electricity through the trailer next door. He barely had any…

--

--

Glenna Gill
Ellemeno

My memoir, “When I Was Lost,” is available now. Owner of Memories Mastered publication. Writing here since 2018 and love it!