LIFE

My Husband Outdid Himself This Christmas

He finally embraced the true meaning of the holidays

Glenna Gill
Ellemeno
Published in
5 min readDec 26, 2023

--

Photo by Toni Cuenca on Pexels

My husband has always hated Christmas.

He gets agitated about the money it costs, the expectations of others and holiday traditions. He would rather spend the day watching football in peace.

Unfortunately for him, I absolutely love Christmas. I’d like nothing more than to drive around my city all night looking at all the holiday lights on every house. I adore decorating Christmas trees and watching “It’s A Wonderful Life.” I plan my family’s presents way in advance, and I’m more happy and excited watching them open the gifts than they are.

Because of the wonderful holidays I had as a child, I want my 17-year-old daughter to still believe the day is magical and something to celebrate in our house. My two sons live out of state, but I always try to make their Christmas special, too. This year, we used FaceTime so I could watch them open their presents. I got them each a drone to play with, and I was thrilled to see how excited they were.

Getting back to my husband, he tries to smile and join in the fun, but I know his heart isn’t in it. Sometimes I wonder what his Christmases were like before I met him. He didn’t have the best childhood, after all, and…

--

--

Glenna Gill
Ellemeno

My memoir, “When I Was Lost,” is available now. Owner of Memories Mastered publication. Writing here since 2018 and love it!