WRITING

So You Want To Be A Writer

Authentic art requires you to do what inspires you and trust that a community of like-minded fans will find you

David Todd McCarty
Ellemeno
Published in
8 min readFeb 28, 2023

--

Self portrait by author.

I’m close. I can feel it. It’s taken years, with all sorts of fits and starts, dark periods and times of manic productivity, success, and failure. I know I can write. I’m confident in my voice. I believe I have things to say that people want to hear, in a style they wish to hear it. But I haven’t quite found the broad audience I need to succeed. I’m so close.

My voice has developed over time, like all writers, but I can trace my current style back through the years with relative ease. It’s like watching my grandchildren grow. When they’re babies, you can’t imagine what they’ll look like as they age, but when you look backward, the signs are obvious. Of course, that’s what they used to look like. Just look at them now.

So how do we go about finding that audience that will ensure our success?

Delusions Are Your Friends

Any time you have a significant community of people trying to achieve something, whether it be writing, acting, music, or art, an entire industry will pop up, seemingly overnight, to convince them that there are seven easy steps to success. All…

--

--

David Todd McCarty
Ellemeno

A cranky romantic searching for hope and humor. I tell stories. Most of them are true. I’m not at all interested in your outrage, but I do feel your pain.