MEMOIR

The Backstabbing Chronicles: My Best Friend’s Attempt To Destroy Me

The bitter end of an ugly relationship

Glenna Gill
Ellemeno
Published in
10 min readDec 20, 2023

--

It was her birthday.

We made plans for her to come visit me at my house since my husband, Micah, was at work. She wanted to show me the movie “Control” about Ian Curtis, the frontman for Joy Division, who had sadly died young at 23. She was a huge fan.

When she arrived, she was holding a large bottle of wine even though it was 11:00 a.m. I grabbed a couple of cups, and we repeatedly toasted to her birthday and attempted to watch the movie, both of us becoming too drunk to pay attention. The bottle was nearly empty before noon.

We chatted and laughed and gushed over each other, saying that we would always be best friends no matter what and that we loved each other.

When Micah got home at the end of the day, I was passed out in the bathroom after throwing up. She was passed out in her car. My husband shook me awake in disgust and shouted at me. I ignored him and went out to the car to see if my friend was okay.

Somehow, I had slept off my drunken stupor and was completely sober by the time I got to her car. She was slumped over onto the steering wheel. I petted her hair and tried to get her to wake up, but…

--

--

Glenna Gill
Ellemeno

My memoir, “When I Was Lost,” is available now. Owner of Memories Mastered publication. Writing here since 2018 and love it!