MEMOIR

The Story of How My Freckles Returned

An unlikely beacon of being on the right path

Bell
Ellemeno
Published in
3 min readJun 30, 2023

--

A few months ago, I was standing in this dingy, little bathroom of the remote Canadian ski resort I worked at, getting ready for another day on the slopes. Late as always, I was rushing through my skincare when I suddenly noticed something. There were faint little dots all over my face.

Freckles.

I’ve had a few of those on my nose my whole life, however this time they were all over my face. Faint, but there.

At this ski resort, I was a snowboard instructor, meaning I spent much of my day outside. As the months went on, my freckles became more noticeable and numerous.

Freckles aren’t necessarily special or life-changing. Yet to me, they were the most evident indicator I’ve had to date that I am on the right path.

That is something I haven’t felt like in a long time.

I went to university for four years and got my Bachelor of Science, after which I worked in a London office for a year, trying to build my career. My degree, and life in London after, made me anxious and even depressed at times, yet I believed that this was the path to success.

--

--

Bell
Ellemeno

Travel blogger, designer and writer ✈️🌍👩‍🎨 traveloffscript.com __ You can support me and my writing here: https://ko-fi.com/bellks :)