OPINION

The US Presidential Debate Reminded Me of My Divorce

You thought it was about addressing policies but it triggered a marriage story

Natasha MH
Ellemeno
Published in
9 min readJun 29, 2024

--

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” — Abraham Lincoln.

I didn’t have to enter the arena of politics to measure the truth of Lincoln’s quote. I learned it when I got married. When I married my former husband, he had nothing to his name. He was still finishing his degree with barely an income. By the time he had everything we could afford, we were divorced. By then, the properties and investments we had amassed meant nothing. The unhappiness we accrued was worth leaving everything behind. Burning it all to the ground would have felt more justified. That’s what you call wealth crusted with pain.

While Generation Z TikTokkers seem to project that money is the root of success, I can speak freely and with confidence as a member of Generation X that money isn’t everything. I won’t put on a Biblical tone and say it’s “the root of all evil,” but money won’t cuddle you up on a cold and lonely night. I can assure you of that.

Though my former husband and I remained friends, when I reminisce about the marriage we left behind, I loved him most when he had nothing

--

--