LIFE

When My Biggest Fan Wrote To Me

This isn’t exactly how I pictured it

April Hawkins, Ask A Bitchface
Ellemeno
Published in
4 min readJun 30, 2024

--

Photo via Pexels.

I’m popular enough in a few places to receive fan mail. I think it’s absolutely fantastic, and it usually makes my day. However, it’s not all rainbows and sunshine in terms of fandom.

I’m in some Single White Female nightmare

I’ve been writing professionally for nearly a decade. I have a solid following across my platforms, and that’s a situation I’ll probably never get used to. It’s flattering. I love my fans; they’re the greatest.

But there’s one woman; she's in a whole different category.

Allow me a moment to digress.

In addition to writing, I’m an advocate for women leaving domestic abuse. I also work with women leaving trafficking. It’s the work I do to feel good about myself; I’m no hero. I have managed to help a few people, and I hope to help a few more.

I often have women write in and tell me their stories. I have a little side operation that I’ve been running for years where I’ll Uber women out of their danger zone to a shelter or pay for a hotel for the night until the shelter opens. I’ve found that if they don’t leave right when they feel brave enough, they generally won’t end up leaving. My plan works, and…

--

--

April Hawkins, Ask A Bitchface
Ellemeno

Author. Columnist. Activist. Poet basically since birth. Defender of dogs and underdogs, follow me on Substack: askabitchface@substack.com