LIFE

When Space Meets Stoicism

Conjuring magic that’s within your power to control

Natasha MH
Ellemeno
Published in
8 min readJun 23, 2024

--

“We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology.” — Carl Sagan

I was reading the obituary of William Anders, the Apollo 8 astronaut who captured Earthrise in December 1968. Anders died recently, on June 7th, aged 90. I’m not well-versed in astronomy, but I enjoy reading about astronauts’ reactions when in space. It’s probably because I know journeying into space won’t be on my bucket list in this lifetime.

As ambitious and hungry as I am for adventure, I know my limitations. I can’t survive camping in the wild with both feet firmly on the ground; space would be at an unattainable level. But on many evenings, I enjoy being swept away watching sunsets. Sunsets, to me, are symbolic reminders that the curtains draw for events in life. As the sun kisses the horizon, we are signaled the time to reflect, to conduct a post-mortem about what worked, what didn’t, and how we can do things differently when tomorrow comes. A sunset brings forgiveness. Like a closing chapter, a sunset is like a mother soothing a child to bed.

When I was scouting for my studio, I chose one with a sunset view that wouldn’t disappoint. The studio…

--

--