Chapter 36 — High Five.

Amsterdam, here we are.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
3 min readJun 20, 2016

--

Not my photo. Just to put it out there.

I don’t want to make any crazy confessions after only being here for a few hours, but I love Amsterdam.

It’s absolutely hammering it down, but I’m swooning over this city already. Sorry Manchester, you’ve got a rival.

Me.

I usually despise travelling of any kind, but that trip to Dam was easy as peas. Taxi to Manchester Oxford Road station, 20 minute train to the airport, board the plane, 55 minute flight, land, 15 minutes through Arrivals and Baggage Claim, 20 minute train, 10 minute walk, Durty Nelly’s.

Easy. As. Peas.

The 10 minute walk was a bit of wet one considering how hard it was raining, but once we arrived at Nelly’s the staff could not have been more welcoming to a pack of drowned rats.

That’s the hotel’s actual entrance at the end on the right there. It’s basically an Irish pub with rooms upstairs.

As if I wasn’t already happy enough at Nelly’s, as soon as I found out we get discounted beer on a bar which is open 24/7 to us guests, I was on cloud nine. Plus, the beer tastes INCREDIBLE. Seriously, I’ve never tasted anything as sweet as the pint of Amstel I had earlier. Good God.

Me.

Durty Nelly’s, if you hadn’t already assumed, is the name of our hostel in Dam. I’d like to say we chose our accommodation based on price and location, but when you’re presented with a place called Durty Nelly’s, it’s an opportunity you don’t want to pass up.

In all honesty though, Nelly’s is in a cracking spot, and the price was pretty fair, so I’m confident we made a solid choice.

I haven’t really got a lot else to say in Chapter 35. The beer is fantastic, the weather is eh (at the moment), the buildings are wonderfully weird, the air smells much, much better than Manchester’s and the whole area we’re in is just incredibly interesting.

I predict it’s gonna be hard to say goodbye on Friday.

Elliot out.

Everything Else…

I know I said this week’s Chapters would be picture heavy, but it’s obviously been a busy day of not a lot of interesting scenery. Plus, I’m recording videos as much as I’m trying to take photos. I’ve suddenly become very keen to the idea of creating a short film about this whole trip.

I’m hoping my body is okay with an early morning walk tomorrow, so more photos and videos will hopefully be created then.

Thanks for taking the time to read my writings!

If you have a Medium account and like my stuff, please be kind enough to give my post some love by clicking the little green heart. Even give me a follow if you’re that big of a fan.

Also, you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram by clicking whichever word takes your fancy. If you hate clicking links, my username on both is EllMorrow.

Still me.

--

--