Chapter 9 — I need to do more.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2016

University is finally over. After the most stressful academic year of my life, it’s time to party hard, right? Time to spend all day in bed and watch TV, right? Time to do nothing for at least a few weeks, right?

Wrong. That ain’t for this guy. Not for the time being at least.

I’m not sure if my love for Manchester came across fully in Chapter 7. If it didn’t, then let me just stress:

I. Love. Manchester.

I love the people. I love the buildings. I love the nightlife. I love the crammed city centre. I love the Northern Quarter. I even love the weather. All of it makes Manchester what it is, and I love it.

So, as you can imagine, my desire to stay in Manchester now that university has finished is pretty damn strong. In fact, as much as I also love my hometown, I’m not sure what I’d do if I had to move back there even temporarily (sorry Mum). I don’t want to fall in to that trap because I’m terrified it might be months before I’m back in Manchester.

Which means the partying and celebrations will have to wait. It’d be great if I could kick back for a night and get hilariously drunk, but there’s a part of my brain which won’t let me. If you waste more time and more money, it says, you’re going to be a little be further from where you want to be.

Never have I used a more cliched gif. I’m sorry. But damn look how fast her month moves.

I’m confident I’ll be in a new house in Manchester on July 1st, but I really haven’t got long to make that dream a certain reality.

It might sound crazy to my housemates who know how hard I work, but I need to do more. I need to work a little bit harder on what will actually allow me to afford to live in Manchester come the end of June.

It’s going to be tough, but these Chapters get me excited as hell every day. They motivate me to do more meaningful stuff. Hopefully that meaningful stuff translates in to a meaningful income.

Ciao.

I’m at an event right now doing that little bit more so as soon as I press publish I’m gonna network my ass off. Thanks for reading. Also, weirdly enough, my mate Sam just sent me a job over Facebook that could be right up my street. Oddly perfect timing.

--

--