Frustration, belief and being the author of your life story

Stories I’ve loved on Medium this week – 11.12.16

Elliot Morrow
Published in
4 min readDec 11, 2016

--

I read a lot. So, each Saturday, I share the Stories I’ve loved from around Medium over the last seven days.

Enjoy.

7 things you never think about but annoy and frustrate me to no end.John Markowski

People who back into parking spaces

I get that there are times when this a strategic move. Like at a concert or sporting event where it makes for an easier getaway post event.

But when you do this on a Tuesday afternoon in March in the parking lot of Kohl’s, I have a big problem with it.

John, I just want to say, I agree with the above. These people are (generally) the most judgemental, too.

“Oh, you don’t back in to parking spaces? Pfft, don’t you care about safety?”

Get out of here.

If You Can Believe It, You Can Achieve ItDarius Foroux

You don’t need a bigger dose of #mondaymotivation. You know why? That type of motivation is not practical. It doesn’t do anything. It’s not useful. It’s the same as drinking Red Bull. It fades quickly.

Give Darius’s post your time and you’ll realise that the above is spot on.

Motivation is a temporary driver. It will lift you up, tell you all of the things you want yourself to hear and then slam you back down to earth with a sudden desire to do everything tomorrow.

That is, unless you fully believe in what you’re doing. Belief — and self-discipline — will take you much further in life than motivation ever will.

A Daily Writing Habit Allows You to Become the Author of Your Life StorySrinivas Rao

Life is a story that is made of words, sentences, paragraphs, and chapters. It’s made up of brief moments of audacity, peaks, valleys. false starts dead ends, detours, and false horizons. We will have moments when we’re filled with joy and others when we’re consumed by grief. Shit will inevitably hit the fan. Some of it we will have no control over. But what we do have control over is the story. And a daily writing habit allows you to become the author of your life story.

Well, as a daily writer myself, I can’t help but share this story by Srinivas.

The daily writing detailed in this post isn’t always something that you’re expected to share externally. But the clarity, self-discovery and vision/imagination achieved through getting words out of your head every single day comes about regardless of if you share your writings or not.

If you want to write, write daily.

The Benjamin Franklin Method: How to (Actually) Learn to WriteCharles Chu

Born into poverty with 16 siblings, Franklin dropped out of school at age 10. How did Benjamin Franklin go from primary school dropout to the most accomplished American in all of history?

I wanted to find out.

Having known pretty much nothing about the guy before reading this Charles Chu post, I’ve now put Benjamin Franklin’s autobiography at the top of my to-buy list.

Dude knew how to learn to write.

Thanks for reading Chapter 210!

Follow me on the social medias over here (@EllMorrow):

Twitter + Instagram

Here are the previous few weeks of stories I’ve loved on Medium:

--

--