Full-time hustle.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
Published in
2 min readJul 30, 2016

When I was offered the job at NCC, I was told to use the two and a half weeks until my start date to chill out, to relax. Kirsty made it as clear as she could that I should utilise my two and a half weeks to “enjoy my freedom.”

I’ll be honest, I was a bit disappointed. I’d wanted to start as soon as possible. If the opportunity was there, I’d have started on the Monday four days after the job offer.

But the opportunity to start before the 1st August wasn’t there, so I’ve been “trying” to “relax”. Whatever that means.

See, my problem is I don’t relax. I’m not a settler. I don’t sit still and do nothing. It goes completely against who I am and what I stand for. I’m a constant mover, either mentally or physically.

So, I’ve spent the last two and a half weeks doing very little relaxing. Instead I’ve been going about my life how I would have if I hadn’t been offered the role at NCC: Busy schedule. Loads of learning. No day the same.

Perfect.

I see it as just further preparing myself for full-time employment in a completely new environment. If these last 16 days had been spent chilling out not doing a lot, I’d walk in to NCC on Monday dreading a 37 and a half hour work week. As it stands, I can’t wait.

New job. New people. New environment. New opportunities.

More opportunities.

Monday can’t come quick enough.

I’m sorry to report that, starting now, no more gifs of the day. I just don’t think they add anything worthwhile to a Chapter and they’re a distraction. Instead, I’m going to post a quote of the day (QoTD). Enjoy.

This first QoTD is from entrepreneur Peter Sage.

So many people settle. It’s the age old analogy that a ship in a harbour is a safe ship, but that’s not what ships are built for. Most people moor up in a harbour and moan about the fact they never see the island of their dreams. Get out there. Yes there’s going to be storms, that’s part of the game. Go sailing.

- Peter Sage

Thanks for reading Chapter 76!

Phone post today, so no gif to show you how to recommend my posts. I’m sure y’all know how by now though.

I’m on the Twitter & Instagram: EllMorrow.

And if you ain’t got me on Snapchat, here you go:

--

--