I don’t keep score

That’s not what this is for.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2016

--

I can’t remember the last time I checked my blog stats. It was months ago. Maybe around Chapter 120.

Even as I type these words I’ve no desire to sneak a look. No desire to see how many have viewed and read my content. It’s not within me to do that anymore.

I used to be keen on stats, back when I wrote on my Blogspot site.

Over 100 views!? That’s so cool! People must really care about my stuff.

As I’ve grown – naturally and as a writer – it’s hit me that, really, in the grand scheme of things, views don’t matter at all.

Keeping score is not what this is for.

Views and reads can’t tell you how much of an impact your writing has had on someone’s life. Numbers give you the tip of the iceberg: here’s how many people have seen what you published. That’s it.

And those numbers are either disappointing or pleasing. There’s rarely any middle ground.

If they’re disappointing you’re disheartened, internally shattered.

No one cares about what I write.

If they’re pleasing, you run the risk of being too confident. You want to ride this wave and see how far you can go. So you publish again. Then the views on the new post aren’t as strong.

No one cares about what I write.

It’s a continuous loop. Statistically, some posts will do better than others. But what does that really tell you? If we’re honest, not a lot.

You want comments. You want shares. You want feedback.

Go out and get it. Ask your readers what they think. Gather information and improve where you see fit.

But forget about eyeballs. Forget about keeping score. You’re better than that.

You know what this is for.

Thanks for reading Chapter 213

Follow me on the social medias over here (@EllMorrow):

Twitter + Instagram

--

--