I’ll admit it, I miss Barrow

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
Published in
3 min readSep 5, 2016
Yes, I’m aware that isn’t Barrow in the background, but it’s a nice photo and it supports the narrative I’m going for in this Chapter ok.

Don’t be shocked at the title, it was bound to happen eventually.

Usually, I get a heavy sense of relief to have returned to the city I love. Stepping on to Mancunian turf, walking out of Oxford Road Station, staring up at the Palace Hotel. It’s like a weight being lifted off my chest.

But this time the chest wasn’t as weighed down. The sense of relief was lighter. I was hit with an even mix of glad-to-be-back and but-I-could’ve-stayed-a-few-more-days.

I can’t remember the last time I was so split between Manchester and Barrow. I don’t think I ever have been.

It’s not a bad thing by any means. I’m more than happy to love both equally, but it’s a new feeling.

Yesterday probably played a part: a trip to Coniston with friends I’ve known for as long as I can remember. A day I didn’t want to end. It was quality time I don’t get to spend with them as much now; that time is spread out, scattered. So I appreciate it more, and I enjoy it more.

Yesterday has left me slightly nostalgic for the years before Manchester. Before university and new friends and a whole other way of life.

It’s left me slightly nostalgic for the days where everyone I knew and everything I needed was within walking distance. It’s left me slightly nostalgic for not needing to get the bus everywhere. It’s left me slightly nostalgic for being able to hop in the car and just drive.

Those random nights on the field, Tuesday pub quizzes at the Bay Horse, grabbing lunch at the Old Smithy, random trips to Ulverston or further afield to the Lakes, walking around town for no other reason than to grab a Maccies and get out of the house, Saturday nights in the Railway and Bar Five and Kavanagh’s and Buddha Bar and Club M, Liverpool matches at home with my Dad while the smell of Sunday roast drifted through from the kitchen. I miss it all.

For the first time, Barrow has made me just a tad homesick. It’s kept hold of a little bit more of the heart than usual.

I couldn’t be happier. I was waiting for this moment.

Manchester, get used to sharing.

It’s about damn time I felt this way.

Thanks for reading Chapter 113.

If you love my stuff, please consider giving it a recommend by turning the little heart green.

Follow me on social media over here: Twitter+Instagram+ Snapchat (by scanning the Snapcode).

--

--