10 facts about me, and you won’t guess what #7 is.

No seriously, you probably won’t.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
6 min readAug 3, 2016

--

Yesterday’s Chapter didn’t go in to as much depth as it could have. That was purposeful. Mainly because if I’d stuffed everything in to Chapter 79, it would’ve been my longest of the lot.

So, I saved the depth for today. Smart move.

That depth is this: the 10 Facts Exercise.

The 10 Facts Exercise was suggested to us by Craig after we’d watched last night’s TED Talk. I wanted to be able to call it the 10 Facts Challenge but Craig used exercise and I couldn’t exactly change course considering what the cover photo at the top says.

Anyway, exercise it is.

At a glance, the 10 Facts Exercise sounds quite simple. Think up 10 facts about yourself that you don’t mind sharing with others (strangers, friends, family) and then do exactly that: share them with others.

What’s interesting about doing this exercise/challenge is that you tend to start with quite basic facts about yourself; the stuff that you’ve told people countless times in the past. But after a handful, you realise that you’ve been holding a lot of facts close to your chest for a long time. There’s no reason for this — they’re not shameful or secret facts — but you simply haven’t put yourself in a frame of mind where these buried facts can be unearthed. The 10 Facts Exercise puts you in to that state of mind.

As an example, here’s Mark’s list from last night. He did more than 10 (I think we all did) but once you’re on a roll you don’t really want to stop.

Interesting stuff, right? I’ve known Mark for over a year now and yet I wasn’t even aware of over half of those facts about him. I think Mark felt the same way when I read out my list.

There was a third person in our group too; a lady Mark and I had never met before. Within 30 minutes of us forming our trio, we’d shared more than 10 facts each about one another and explained a few of them in more detail. Within 30 minutes, over 30 facts had been told between us. And, if we’d had more time, those 30 facts would’ve allowed the three of us to talk for hours.

That’s the effect of the 10 Facts Exercise.

So, without further ado, here are my 10 Facts:

I support Liverpool FC.

Pretty standard one to start off with, and a fact I’ve mentioned a couple of times before in these Chapters.

Liverpool has been my football club of choice for as long as I can remember. I can’t pinpoint exactly when I started supporting them, but my first match at Anfield was way back in 2003, exactly one week before my 9th birthday.

I have a degree in Film and Media Studies.

And I got that degree just the other Tuesday (July 19th), so this fact is pretty hot off the press.

That’s me above, shaking hands with MMU Chancellor Lord Peter Mandelson. Then I walked off and waited for two more hours while everyone else at my Graduation did the same routine.

I’m originally from Barrow-in-Furness in Cumbria.

I stole this from the town’s photography Facebook group, so it’s not mine but it shows the area not far from my house.

That stone structure in the middle is Furness Abbey, which has a seriously interesting history. It always seems to be in a constant state of repair nowadays, but it’s still super fascinating.

While I live in Manchester permanently now, I have to admit that I do still get a bit homesick from time to time.

Manchester is my favourite city in the world. Amsterdam is my second favourite.

Both my photos. Manchester at the top, Amsterdam at the bottom.

I worked my ass off to be able to stay in Manchester after university, and I did it. Now, I work full-time at a company called NCC Group.

As for Amsterdam, I’ve been there once, this June just gone. And yet it’s absolutely, without a doubt, my second favourite city on the planet and I’m desperate to go back.

I enjoyed Dam so much I even made a film about the trip.

I meditate almost daily.

I’ve waxed lyrical about meditation loads in these Chapters, and I’m even worse face-to-face.

Meditation is genuinely one of my favourite hobbies/habits. Although it’s frustrating that I don’t always remember to do it each and every day.

I write a blog post every day on Medium.

Go figure.

If this is your first Chapter/introduction to my writing, then check out the previous 79 Chapters right here:

At the end of Year 11, I won an award for being the most likely to become a millionaire.

And to make it even more interesting, I got given the award while hosting the end-of-year awards “ceremony” with the Head Girl Ellë. I was Head Boy, just to clarify.

Luckily, while presenting, I missed picking up the Most Likely To Be A Millionaire award. That would’ve been embarrassing, right?

So Ellë grabbed it, and as I faced the rest of the year expecting her to read out the name of anyone but me, she said “Here you go” and thrust the award in to my hands.

And there’s the exact award above. Courtesy of my Mother’s photography skills, because I don’t keep the thing with me in Manchester. That’d be weird.

Nice little nugget of motivation every time I remember about it though.

If I could wear shorts every day for the rest of my life, I would.

I can’t even add much more to this. I hate wearing any form of lower-body garment which covers the area past my knees.

I want to have my own business by the time I’m 30.

Now, this isn’t a goal I’m afraid to shout about.

30 seems like an incredibly long way off. A scary way off. But within nine years, I want a business.

Whether that’s a business on my own or with a partner, I’m not too fussed. I just know I want something I can call my own. Something that makes a difference.

I’m still waiting for that lightbulb moment, but I’m patient.

I’ve always wanted a dog, but my parents wouldn’t let me get one.

And for 18 years while I was living at home, they denied me, and my sister, and themselves, the opportunity to own a dog as cute as the one above.

Absolute travesty.

Thanks for reading my 10 facts! If you want to take part, write down your 10 and then tweet me the image. It’ll be fun, trust me.

QoTD #5

“Sometimes when it looks like I’m deep in thought I’m just trying not to have a conversation with people.”

- P. Wentz

That’s all for Chapter 80, folks!

Follow me on social media over here: Twitter + Instagram + Snapchat (left).

--

--