Early Childhood Education: Teaching Benefits and Opportunities to Help

Maximiliano Perkell
Sex and Gender
Published in
3 min readNov 30, 2022

Max Perkell

Early childhood is considered the period between a child’s birth and kindergarten. Whether or not education is necessary at this time is frequently debated: Is early childhood education necessary for Child development? This period is of utmost importance to the development of the child. Although children don’t retain much academic information at this age, this time is still crucial. At this age, children create a foundation for how they interact with others for the rest of their lives. This foundation translates directly to the quality of their adult lives therefore, early childhood education is necessary for child development. We must advocate for more economic support for early childhood education from the government and individuals.

Analysis & Action

Reflection

I created an educational piece on the importance of early childhood education, advocating for better funding of it to decrease poverty and incarceration rates. I sourced simple statistics that were easily interpreted and most likely to sway the audience in favor of my argument, like how 90% of our brains develop in the early childhood stage. Or how children who had a rich early childhood were more successful in nearly every aspect of life. Lots of specific information is offered from reputable sources that would lead readers to trust and believe that the information given is accurate. The well-being and prosperity of our children is a topic that is near and dear to the majority of the audience’s hearts, especially mine, as it has been the heart of my family ever since I can remember. My family has been in the business of early childhood development ever since my mother had me and couldn’t find adequate childcare for me to her standards. A better future is something that all audiences can appreciate. I have taken this into account in how I expressed my ideas, every piece of evidence and information I gave exhibited the positive effect early childhood education has on children. I care very much about early childhood education and believe it is a blanket solution to many of the problems that society currently faces, which is why this was a passion project for me. I believe that I am continuing my family’s mission by using my privilege to learn, in-depth, about early childhood education and its benefits so that I may spread that information and make a positive impact on today’s tomorrow.

The purpose of my writing is to make a change. My draft will convince individuals and governments to support the funding of early childhood education programs to all children. This is a subject that matters because children are the future and by increasing the quality and access to early childhood education, we are increasing the quality of the future for everyone. It also matters to me because my family has been in the business of early childhood development ever since my mother had me and couldn’t find adequate childcare for me to her standards. A better future is something that all audiences can appreciate. In the future, I believe that this information could be better received in the form of a Zine with large posters and graphs. This would create a bigger audience as not everyone wants to take the time to read multiple pages and would instead prefer pictures and graphs. I think the same message could have been conveyed in a much more simple manner while having a more significant impact. That is what I would have done differently.

--

--