Why Vote?

Caroline White
Sex and Gender
Published in
3 min readNov 30, 2022

By Caroline White

My Praxis is voting. During this midterm election, I voted for candidates I felt would best represent my opinions. The biggest issue on the ballot for me, was reproductive justice. I was very concerned with who would fight to protect my bodily autonomy and who would try to take it away. Many people are affected by this issue. These people include but are not limited to: transgender women, cisgender women, transgender men, non binary people, gender fluid people, and others. Voting involves many systems including multiple levels of governments, organizations, individual people and families, and big companies.

As many people are aware of, Roe V. Wade has protected peoples rights for many years. Since being taken away, bodily autonomy has been under attack. Since I am a member of the affected community, I have a personal connection to this issue and can see how people it hurts people. However, my privilege/identities give me a different view on this topic than others. While I am of course scared for my rights, because of my privilege as a white middle class woman, I think if I needed help or access to something like an abortion, I could get it. This is more than I can say for people of more marginalized communities with less access to resources than I.

If you are not of age to vote, it is important to still make your voice heard. Attending protests and donating to organizations is a good way to do this. I am hoping through my voting as one of many, I can elect leaders who will listen to their constituents and make positive changes. Voting makes a large impact. Even though you may think your vote does not matter, it certainly does. Voting can not only help you, but the people around you as well who may not be able to vote for various reasons.

Voting was an exciting experience. As a first time voter, it was great to finally be able to use my voice after years of not being old enough. Voting to me, meant I could finally have a say in my future. I will continue to vote in every coming election. I will vote for people who will listen to my voice and people who will protect my bodily autonomy. If you can vote, please do. It’s such a simple but important way to make your voice heard. Even if you do not care about voting, vote for the people who can’t.

Pictured above: Me with my ballot after filling it out, before dropping it off at my local town hall. I voted absentee in this election due to being away at college.

--

--