What I missed when studying abroad

And I realised it’s “who” rather than “what”

Li Chen Elsie
Elsierenity
3 min readDec 5, 2016

--

1) My signposts

From high school to university, I count myself lucky to have met many people along the way who helped me. Math teacher, music teacher, internship supervisor, etc. During the course of my studies in Glasgow and Aalborg, up and downs reminds me of conversations I had with these people. Words of wisdom linger in my mind as I crossed every obstacle possible.

Don’t say “Ya”, say “Yes”. Don’t make it sound casual, you want to sound professional.

Set yourself a goal. Once you have a goal, work towards it.

These are my signposts, people who point me to possible directions so I don’t get lost. My internship at Balanced Consultancy (now, Novitee) was a remarkable one. I had zero marketing experience but was selected for a marketing role in the, back then, 15-man company. Being fully autonomous on carrying out my work, I found myself enjoying it while learning the ropes of marketing from scratch. Reporting directly to the Managing Director of the company, Benjamin, my learning curve was superbly steep. At times of frustration when I ran out of ideas, his patience and entrepreneurial spirit pushed me forward. There was this unspoken trust and confidence he had in me that I felt I couldn’t let down. I know I was privileged to be in such a team led by him.

Karaoke treat with colleagues from Novitee (past Balanced Consultancy), Singapore

2) My pillars of strength

After our undergraduate studies, many went off on their own course. International friends I made back in Singapore went back to their home countries, local friends went on with their careers, if not postgraduate studies. Looking back these two years, even when we couldn’t meet spontaneously for dinners at Orchard or Clementi, I’m glad to say we still do keep in touch. You know who are the people who matter when it felt nothing had changed when you started Skyping or talking on the phone. I don’t need too many pillars of strength, just a few. A few and strong ones are enough to get me through. I can’t wait to be back again and do some catchup with these lovely humans. (Some faces may not be there because I don’t have photos.)

These faces get me through times

3) My safety net

Of course, finally my family. My safety net, always. Sometimes, warm words from my mum would be enough. But when you realised that you’re all alone in a place thousands miles apart, you gotta be stronger. That’s how all of us grow, isn’t it? Get out of your comfort zone, and explore the wildest dreams you ever had. Do that, but never never forget your safety net. It has always been there, but not forever.

At a workshop I have attended in Glasgow, we were asked,

“What would your 90-year-old self say to you today?”

I’ll probably always remember my game partner’s response.

“Keep in touch with people you’ve met throughout your life. Because by the time you’re 90, most of your friends may have left you and money is no longer important. You want to still remember who had made up the chapters of your life story.”

I will make sure I do that.

--

--

Li Chen Elsie
Elsierenity

I write about travel, inspirations, entrepreneurship.