Life at De Paul Institute of Science and Technology

Mehar Pandya
Elucidation Today
Published in
3 min readJan 16, 2021

Located in the center of Angamaly, Kerala, the De Paul Institute of Science and Technology has a beautifully sprawled out campus. Despite what the name of the institute suggests, a variety of courses are offered here, from Business Administration to Animation and Visual Effects! I’m currently pursuing B.A in English Literature, Communication and Journalism and as I enter the last year of my college life, I can’t help but reflect on how amazing my journey has been.

De Paul is not only known for its variety of academic courses and excellent infrastructure but also for the myriad of extra curricular activities. When I first came into the college, everything felt very new and different. Setting foot into a fresh phase of my life, feeling completely lost, the different societies and clubs of the college welcomed me with open arms. I was enamored to see how I had a range of arenas that I could explore here. From music, art and dance to social work, finance and journalism, every department had a separate club. Becoming an active member of the Literary Club, I enjoyed attending interactive sessions with renown Malayali poets and writers and participating in fun competitions!

Attending the never ending lectures and meeting up with friends at the Cafeteria (crowded with literally the entire college during the break) was so blissful. Biting into the cheesy vegetable sandwich with a cup of filter coffee is one of the memories of my college life that I’m probably always going to remember. Hanging out with my friends after classes around De Paul was really awesome. Strolling around the Railway Station nearby, clicking perfect pictures for Instagram near the tunnel and walking on the bridge over the canal are some of the many unforgettable moments I’ve had with my friends.

D’Ignito, the intercollegiate fest, is another event that I’m going to cherish being a part of. Comprising of competitions ranging from sports to cultural activities, with our college band playing upbeat songs in the evening, this festival is one of the most awaited events of the year! I was pretty involved in organizing the fest last year, and visiting other colleges around the city, interacting with the students and the faculty and inviting them personally to D’ignito, was quite an experience.

I have met a lot of people, had interesting conversations, explored a lot and made beautiful memories at De Paul. From books to friendships, exams to events, I can’t be grateful enough for these wonderful years of my college life.

This article is a part of the College Campus Series by Elucidation Today. Experience shared by Adwaitha H.

--

--

Mehar Pandya
Elucidation Today

Political Science and English Literature student at University of Delhi. Interested in Public Policy & Climate Change. Loves the mountains & stargazing.