Life at Patkar Varde College

Mehar Pandya
Elucidation Today
Published in
2 min readJan 7, 2021

If you wish to gain freedom from bookish learning and receive expertise on practical knowledge and skills, Patkar Varde College is the ideal destination after school!

I have been fortunate enough to find a course, Bachelors in Mass Media, a course in a field I am genuinely interested in, at Patkar College. I’m very passionate when it comes to the world of mass media — from learning the secrets of digital marketing and brand building to becoming aware of the impact of colors while designing an advertisement, everything fascinates me a great deal. In fact, studying subjects like psychology, sociology and philosophy in this course has provided me with a deeper understanding of mass media.

Located near the famous Filmistan Studio in Goregaon West, Patkar College has a good infrastructure with a girls hostel, library, and a canteen. Something that I find really amazing about my college apart from excellent academics is the varied range of co-curricular activities. Besides societies like NSS and NCC, every department has its event organizing committee, consisting of departments like Content, PR, Sales, Marketing, etc. The Department of BMM has two fun events. One is called Silver Screen Film Society (SSFS), a two-day event on filmmaking (short films and ad films) with workshops and competitions. The second one is called Mediatainment, an open campus event with games and competitions around dance, stand-up, content writing, and the like.

My friends and I often find ourselves traveling all the way to Goregaon East for warm delicious pizzas instead of the oily canteen food! ‘Tumtum’ is also pretty popular here for all those who wish to have it with a calming cup of tea. From Inorbit to Infinity Malls, the students of Patkar can be spotted anywhere, just hanging out with their friends after classes (sometimes during classes as well!).

Patkar Varde College has transformed me completely. Coming from the simple suburbs of a fast-paced city, I initially felt detached from the people and their ways here. I felt like a fish out of water. During one of my classes in the first year, a teacher’s mocking remark jolted me and pushed me out of my comfort zone. I now find myself to have learned numerous new skills, matured a lot, and imbibed confidence but I’ve still got my feet on the ground.

I love how this college has molded and added depth to my personality.

This article is a part of the College Campus Series by Elucidation Today. Experience shared by Suarj Khanvilkar.

--

--

Mehar Pandya
Elucidation Today

Political Science and English Literature student at University of Delhi. Interested in Public Policy & Climate Change. Loves the mountains & stargazing.