“The Golden Days” of RGGDC

Sourav Chauhan
Elucidation Today
Published in
3 min readOct 8, 2020

Rajiv Gandhi Government Degree College (RGGDC)

I set foot in this college long before I was destined to. On June 5, 2011, I had come to Rajiv Gandhi Government Degree College (RGGDC), Kotshera, Shimla-4, to represent my school in an Environment Day competition. I remember feeling incredibly tired when I arrived there because of the Environment Day rally for which we had to walk more than 15 kilometers!

Seven years passed and I never went back to that place again; until June of 2017. My academic and memorable journey in college began on a funny and confusing note. From the first day I set foot on the campus till my last, these 6 semesters were a whirlwind of a crazy unforgettable experience.

Surrounded by the majestic cedar woods, this place had me running every day- literally. Although lush green sightings aren’t uncommon here in Shimla, RGGDC still seemed secluded. The Annadale Helipad within sight was a scene to behold; the child within me giggled at the sight of the massive metal machines flying. Breathing in the mountain air infused with the sweet smell of the greenery, it was simply magical to see the distant Himalayas, covered with snow, tinted by the rays of the sun, and surrounded by white clouds. It seemed like paradise right in front of my eyes.

A regular day in my college began with a nice 30-minute walk (almost always, a run!), passing by the well known Heritage Railway Station of Shimla, brushing past the Vidhan Sabha, and then reaching the college, just on time. The lectures were more like discussions or casual chat sessions, some friendly and some enlightening; certain professors made the one-hour lectures fun and interesting. Though my friends and I didn’t hang out much in the canteen, we did spend some hours simply eating and chatting there.

Some of the best memories of the college are made during the events. Being a part of the Organizing Committee, we had the best of times, simply giggling and chatting here and there, participating in ‘Event Management’. Be it the Annual Fests, the Freshers’ and the Farewells, Prize Distributions, and whatnot, we had a unique name and a theme for everything. The rush we felt on the D-days to the after-parties we had, post the events, I fondly reminisce everything.

The ‘Golden Days’ are maybe over, but the Golden memories are still very much alive and will be.

--

--