Undergraduate life at Banasthali Vidyapith, Rajasthan

Madhurantika Sunil
Elucidation Today
Published in
3 min readDec 13, 2020

Life is a journey of different experiences and phases that mold us into the person we become later. One such very important phase in everyone’s life, I believe is their college life. It is at this time that most people leave home for a brand new life full of adventure, value, learning, and unlearning. My undergraduate life at Banasthali Vidyapith has undoubtedly been the best times of my life. The College is located roughly 65 kilometers away from Jaipur, in Tonk District. Located far away from the hustle-bustle of the city life, to a quiet solitude in a village named “Banasthali”, the college dates its history as back as 1935. Banasthali Vidyapith is exclusively for women and provides education from first grade till PhD.

The best part about the campus is it’s closeness with nature. It has an abundance of Neem Trees, pollution-free space, fresh air, and a clear sky full of stars at night. When I first walked into the campus in July and started settling in the hostel, I had no idea how my life was turning out to be? How will I live so far away from my family and that too for three long years! At first anxiety and nervousness were my constant companions, but as time went by before I could know it, I was in love with this place and then, there was no turning back.

In my school days, I was not an eager participant of extracurricular activities, but this place changed me. I took part in poetry competitions, story-writing, extempore, debates, singing contests, dramas, quizzes and won prizes. I learned more about myself, my goals, and what it is that I really want to do in life. I found my passion for literature, theory, philosophy, and realized I loved reading and writing. I discovered myself here in this place. I went to conferences and seminars to present papers, I even got one paper published in a journal which was a big achievement for me as an Undergrad student. I was an Assistant Editor for the magazine, Voices, of Dept. of English and MELs. I was also a student coordinator for debating society. It was in my second year that I was made the student coordinator, and what a wholesome learning experience it was! I made mistakes, I faltered, but I always had the support of my teachers, their love, care and guidance which nurtured me.

This place transformed me. I found my Guru whom I also refer to as my Gardener, Mentor and Father. It didn’t matter what sort of queries I had, whether it was related to my studies or my emotional breakdown, he always guided me and showed me the way. I consider myself fortunate that the connection didn’t fade away since I am not a part of the college anymore. I believe that it is truly a blessing from God and a precious gift that the College has given me. My college experience turned out to be an ‘epiphany’ for me which allowed the necessary change, development and growth to lead a better life.

--

--