Community Spotlight: Celebrating Women. DVMA…She Is The Gangsta!

Dasha
emanate community
Published in
3 min readMar 1, 2022

Originated in 1908, March has become a month focused on recognizing women’s strength and accomplishments. This month, we will join the movement and take the opportunity to celebrate amazing female creators of emanate community. One of the newest members of our family is an amazingly talented and a total badass. Please, welcome DVMA.

Tell us about yourself. Who is DVMA?

DVMA (pronounced Dama) is a Russian woman, born and raised in Brighton Beach, Brooklyn with a talent and a dream. Member of EODUB, a staple in the NYC underground. Daughter, Lover, Friend, Dog-Mom lol.

You have a very unique image. Can you tell us more about it?

Marilyn Monroe and Pablo Escobar had a lovechild.

When did you start creating music?

Writing at 12, recording and performing at 17.

How did you get started in music?

My father was a Jazz musician. He put a mic in my hand when I was 3. Music is in my DNA. I got started rapping in Lincoln Highschool bathroom, group homes in White Plains, until my bros Joh Frank and Zeps got me out the gutter into real studios.

“Music is in my DNA

How would you describe your music and what message does your music carry?

Lana Del Rey meets Biggie Smalls. A hopeless romantic/kingpin. My message is LOVE, intertwined with the code that was embedded in us growing up in Brooklyn. I’m not about taking a man for his money in exchange for disrespect. Yes you can take care of me, but don’t ever think you can play me. These days we are drowned in music promoting meaningless sex, to the point where women are scared to have loyalty in their relationship contract. I’m here to be the counterbalance.

“My message is LOVE, intertwined with the code that was embedded in us growing up in Brooklyn”

What inspires you?

Love, great conversation, my partner and producer Dat Boy Craig, a song that’s unlike anything I’ve heard before.

What are your music goals?

To create continuously, uninterrupted by the constraints of financial burden. To share my music with the world without succumbing to social media soul-selling.

What are you working on at the moment?

Gangsta Bitch Love Songs… the album.

How did you find out about emanate?

The homie Natalie Crue.

What would you say to any artist who is just getting started?

Don’t start something you can’t finish.

Check out DVMA’s music on emanate.live

DVMA’ Socials:

https://www.instagram.com/dvma_music/

--

--