Community Spotlight: Fluxwork

Emanate
emanate community
Published in
3 min readApr 4, 2020

Tell us about yourself — What make you tick, how did your love for music start?

Man, it’s been an obsession for as long as I remember. I’ve been a musician most of my life, started out playing classical piano as a kid, but discovered production as a teenager. Synths started taking over, and I started Collective Conscience, a live electro-acoustic epic-Jazz/space-Hip Hop trio or something? Been doing a lot of very varied projects from Noise Rock to Ambient Electro ever since, but never went solo until now. Had a whole bunch of tracks lying around, mostly a result of studies in Karnatic (e.g. South-Indian) rhythm. Discovering music of all kinds of genres, places and periods is really what makes me tick, it’s like the fuel that keeps me going.

Who are your influences?

I get inspired a lot by the rhythmical richness of South-India, the melodiousness of the Middle East, the sonic developments in modern electronic music and the groove of Hip Hop derivatives.

What are some other ways you use your creativity?

I’m creating real-time audio-reactive visuals for my tracks. Recently started doing those for others too, did a video clip for someone on the internet, haha! This also involves some coding, which I feel can be a very creative field too! Don’t claim to be a coder by any means, but I try.

Tell us the influence art and visuals plays in your project

For this particular project, I feel the visual and the music are almost of equal importance. The music always comes first though, the visuals always flow out of that, maybe because that world is still much more new to me.

A school assignment fluxworks did quite some time ago: a soundtrack to this amazing short film by Walt Disney & Salvador Dali.

What you do think about being an independent artist VS getting signed to a record label

Having been both signed and independent, I feel like if you can make it independently that’s great, it gives you the ultimate freedom. Constraining that freedom a bit can sometimes actually be of help however, sometimes it’s a struggle to find out where to take your project without some minds thinking along with you.

Tell us about your latest release.

Under this moniker, I only released one thing actually: an audio-visual I made some years ago which is a kind of abstract meditation, just decided to put it out there for anyone who’d be interested. It’s called NEXT LEVEL, and it is meant to alter your state into a higher awareness. Everything, to the last sample used, was chosen with that in mind. If this works for even 1 person, It’d be a success for me.

Do your self release your music?

As it stands yes. I’m still figuring where I’m going with this.

Where did you go to learn about music production?

Youtube. A lot of trial and error. Oh, and learning to program in Max (For Live) to create Ableton devices, partly in school, was defining for me too.

How do you think emanate will evolve the music industry particularly the independent artists and labels?

I sincerely hope this system will allow for especially more niche, unique artists and labels to get by and see more and faster revenue, bypassing this old and rusty music industry. I’m hopeful, and excited to be part of the journey early on!

https://emanate.live/fluxwork

Listen now!

Want to get on Emanate?

Jump in the Discord and ask how to get started! — https://discordapp.com/invite/dznxyW3

--

--