Community Spotlight: Linking up with Suave

Klyn Akwarandu
emanate community
Published in
4 min readNov 10, 2021

Written by Klyn Akwarandu for the EMANATE NIGERIA community

Jack of all trades, master of none — I am sure you would have heard that phrase at some point in your life, or perhaps read it in a book. Today we would be interviewing a young man who dares to defy the above phrase and has proven that you can be a Jack of all trades and unapologetically be a master of all.

Irvin Suave is a Nigerian-born artist, songwriter, producer, and much more, with a penchant for excellence. Having worked with a myriad of musicians both nationally and internationally, his brand has now become a force to reckon with.

Today he has granted us a long-awaited interview, and we’ll get right to it.

Hi Suave, so tell us what your real name is and why you decided to go with Suave.

Okay so my real name is Irvin Ijoma, I decided to go with Suave cause I felt the meaning of the name was what I wanted to identify with charming, confident, and elegant.

We hear you are a man of many talents, can you indulge us and list every single one of them?

Okay, Lol

  • I’m a singer and rapper
  • Music producer
  • Mix engineer.
  • Songwriter / Topliner
  • Businessman

Wow, so if you were to pick one from the list, which would you say you were born for?

Well, I was born for “the music”, I don’t know if I can choose between producing music and singing, although lately, I can say I enjoy producing more. 😁

How long have you been in the music industry?

Been in the music industry since 2009, but I released my first single in 2013. I used to just write songs for people and stuff.

Can you remember the first song you ever wrote, produced or sang? If they are all different songs, we would like a link to go listen and laugh a little…hehe

😅😅

I remember the first song I released.. mehn... it’s not so great right now.. the lyrics video is still on my YouTube channel …. here Irvin Suave

What message are you trying to pass onto your listeners with your music?

I like to think that my music brings happiness and enlightenment to my listeners. I’m keen on inspiring depth in my listeners mind, and relatable way for them to see the world through my eyes and the eyes of God..I like to pass a message of hope, love and strength.

How did you hear about Emanate?

Well, I heard about Emanate from my oga... Klynic. He’s been the one encouraging me to get on the Emanate train.

Have you signed up already?

Yeah, I’ve signed up..and it was actually seamless. got my songs there already.

Are we expecting more songs from you on the Emanate platform?

Yes, definitely, I plan on dropping a single soon.

What do you have to say to young independent musicians like yourself who are looking for a way to generate value from the amazing musical works they put out time and time again.

Well, one way to get encouraged for the work you’re putting in is getting paid for it. I’d say, find a way to get placements for your songs so you can get paid. And Emanate is one way to do so.

How do you think the industry has changed since we faced the pandemic?

Well, the industry has definitely changed... we see more online presence now more than we used to. Music is fully digital now... if you’re not making waves online, it’s hard for you to be heard worldwide. So yeah.. that’s one way I think the industry has changed since the pandemic.

What do you have to say to EMANATE and its team?

I’d like to say thank you so much Emanate for creating this beautiful platform where musicians like us, can get paid from just seconds of listening to our tracks. it’s really encouraging and supportive. Thank you!

Thank you so much Suave for your time, we sure look forward to your new single.

Thanks for reading through our chat and streaming some of his amazing tracks.

See you next time we link up with another NIGERIAN GEM!!!

Here are some of Irvin’s songs on EMANATE… click to listen

Can we have your social media handles, so we can troll you?

Facebook — Irvin Suave

IG — @Irvin_Suave

EMANATE: https://emanate.live/suavey

Twitter — @irvin_suave

--

--

Klyn Akwarandu
emanate community

Covalent Alchemist OG, Writer "Ololade" Netflix, Filmmaker, musician