Community Spotlight: S.Touze

Chopping it up with untapped talent from Rhode Island

Jerry L (Riseofkingfresh)
emanate community
5 min readApr 2, 2020

--

This interview brought to you by Jerry Lenus (Riseofkingfresh) on behalf of Emanate Community!

First things first, I appreciate you taking time to talk to us. I’ve known you for a grip, but for all those that don’t Let’s start off by introducing yourself.

Thanks J, I’m Esaie Touze also known as S.Touze- a full-blooded Haitian who was born on the Dutch side of Sint Maarten. I moved to America at a young age, where I was raised in Providence, Rhode Island- which is the smallest of all states. Besides the artistry of music, I’m also deeply involved in entertainment, fashion and modelling.

Before going any further I've got to ask about your latest release called “USA” premiering on emanate.live today May 1st 2020, then available on all other platforms on May 3rd 2020. Tell us a little about that single.

USA is a song I made that I feel people from different backgrounds could relate to. I speak on how many people who live in other countries have this perception that if you come to America life will be amazing, but actually It’s the complete opposite. Many foreigners have It hard trying to maintain a decent livelihood; not being a citizen of America can be a challenge — i experienced this first hand myself. This song is to speak for those who don’t have the voice to do so.

Talk to us about your artist name, did you come up with it or was it given to you?

For years everyone called me “S.Diiddy”, but when I started to create music on a more serious level in 2018, I changed my stage name to S.Touze. I decided to go with S.Touze because my last name is Touze and my brother goes by M.Touzegrahics; so I felt it would be special to not only have a name that’s similar to my brother but to keep my family name alive.

How did your love for music start?

I fell in love with music when I was about 7 years old. My father would play a miscellaneous of genres from classical music, to pop music to country music. I believe being exposed to different genres at an early age is what expanded my ear for music and contributes to my versatility as an artist.

When did you know you wanted to be a musician?

I knew I wanted to be a musician after my basketball career came to an end due to a L5 herniation spine injury in 2017. I had opportunities to play professionally overseas and I never saw myself doing anything else besides playing basketball. After my injury happened, the doors for music and entertainment opened when I was featured on smashing pop single hit titled “Boulevard” by PresCEO also featuring Z100Wave.

Boulevard

What are your musical goals?

My musical goals are to be at a level where I’m composing music with live instruments and orchestras. I also intend on having my music placed in movies, shows, commercials and video games. My biggest goal to take home a Grammy Award and represent my hometown (Providence, R.I) and my country (Haiti).

How did you find out about Emanate?

I found out about Emanate through a relative, Jerry Lenus (Riseofkingfresh). J spoke highly of Emanate and how the platform would soon be the best. What enticed me about Emanate was how knowledgeable he was of the platform and his passion when he spoke of Emanate, and let’s not forget about the instant payments. I had to get on board.

How do you get the inspiration to start creating music? And what are some of your influences?

I was inspired to start creating music on my own when I started singing in the choir and playing the drums at my church during my early teen years. This exposed me to structure and taught me the importance of practising and studying music when I was alone to be the best of all musician around me. I started composing music on my own there forth.

As for some of my influences, they range from Will.I.Am and the Black Eyed Peas, Michael Jackson, Common Sense and Cam’ron from Dipset to name a few. All of those distinct styles contribute to the molding of my versatility.

Are you looking to be in music full time professionally? or just as a side hobby?

I Intend on doing Music full time professionally and to always be involved with music. Even if I’m not physically on a track or a project, I would love to be part of production and composition, which is something that comes naturally to me.

What artist would you like to collab with in the future?

An artist, I would love to collab with in the future would be Anderson .Pakk, Will.I.Am, Kaytranda and Young Thug.

If you were to give advice to up and coming artist what would it be?

The advice I would give is to find your sound, master that sound and be yourself. Don’t follow what’s considered to be the norm- be eccentric and be genuine. Be careful on the business aspect of music and make sure you get everything in writing and discuss numbers and percentages beforehand because there are people out there who will take advantage of you.

https://emanate.live/stouze

Listen now!

Want to get on Emanate?

Jump in the Discord and ask how to get started! — https://discordapp.com/invite/dznxyW3

--

--